Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
February 28, 2020, 01:31:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: :: Belgium Roadtrip :: Quest for SEGA G-Loc Deluxe ::  (Read 47550 times)
Sonic 1992
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 882


I Wanna Go Back !


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2008, 11:28:36 PM »

I know restoring your games is alot of fun, but are you doing the work in the lair?  I know that cleaning, sanding is very dust making and messy!   oppps   

I take it you don't have anywhere else to do it?  Garage maybe?  (hate to see your other games & the lair covered with dust & dirt!)  double duty, restore & clean up....
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: December 25, 2008, 06:07:45 PM »

I take it you don't have anywhere else to do it?  Garage maybe?  (hate to see your other games & the lair covered with dust & dirt!)  double duty, restore & clean up....

Well, that is my biggest problem : I do not have a workshop for that  oppps
I'm using a room at the first floor in my house to repair the games, and it's a HUGE job to bring them at the first floor (because of the stairs, corridors, I need people to help me...  oppps), but for the case of G-Loc... it's just impossible, unfortunately  Embarrassed
Generally I do not make 'dangerous' things inside my game room, such painting, wood cutting. Maybe in the V3 I would be able to have small workshop area  ? Roll Eyes

Ok, now... the G-Loc is now complete/in one piece  Wink  arrow


Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: January 02, 2009, 06:17:04 PM »

Unfortunately, the problem with this game is worst now  arrow

I know the hydraulic parts are not working, but now even the game doesn't start anymore  Ghost

I hope it's just a power supply problem :
When I power on the game, I hear the fans, but nothing come on screen. I also tried to play or insert coin (without having a picture), but I don't hear something... So I presume even the board doesn't start  Lips Sealed

I have to check what happens on this one  Ghost Ghost Ghost

But hey, even switch off, it really looks cool under the neons  Kiss Kiss Kiss  arrow


« Last Edit: January 02, 2009, 06:30:36 PM by DarthNuno » Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2009, 08:39:01 PM »

Back ok this... got TWO set of PCB... but untested ( oppps ) ...

Yes, I don't like to buy 'untested' boards, but I'm so sad to see a such beast 'non-working' inside the game room ... so let' see if I'm lucky on this  confused



Well, even if these boards are working, it won't fix the hydraulic system... I just expect to have the game working first (without motion).

In order to fix the motion, I must find drive boards and/or motor driver boards...
Logged

Samurajer
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2009, 05:14:25 PM »

I have a G-loc DLX too,

maybe we can exchange ideas... My actuators are working, although one is a bit slower.

do you have the schematics?

cheers, Samurajer
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2009, 08:24:01 PM »

I have a G-loc DLX too,

maybe we can exchange ideas... My actuators are working, although one is a bit slower.

do you have the schematics?

cheers, Samurajer

Hello Samurajer and welcome here  Kiss

Hey, an other G-Loc deluxe owner  Wink Where are you located?

Well, I have the owner's manual but it doesn't include the schematics for the drive boards and/or motor driver boards. It seems that SEGA Japan didn't publish these specific schematics  Embarrassed

Logged

Samurajer
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 12, 2009, 10:02:32 PM »

My G-loc is now in almost perfect working order; just need to get some painting done and stickering.

is your game running? Since you wrote that at first movement was all that failed, I reckon it's most probably the safety that's on... so one of the perimeter breach units is either missaligned, dirty or not well connected.

I made a little sketch explaining all the units in the base of G-loc for those that want to repair one...

« Last Edit: November 12, 2009, 10:20:06 PM by Samurajer » Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: November 14, 2009, 05:47:58 PM »

Many thanks for that picture Samurajer  Kiss It will help me to localize what could be wrong on my cockpit.
I've done some work on it... but still do not understand what are the problems yet  confused (I'll post my work on this soon...)

Lucky man... having a fully working G-Loc deluxe is awesome  Kiss Congratulation  Kiss

But hey... I still have hope  Cool See... I got my Top Gun suit... and I'm ready to fly now   Grin  arrow



...friends name me 'Darth Maverik' now  Cheesy

 Space Ace
Logged

Samurajer
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2009, 01:47:15 PM »

Cool picture,

looks even better off course if there'd be something on the screen.

I found that if you disconnect a perimeter breach sensors, the safety is off; so actuators will be allowed to move.

but that doesn't fix your main problem now. The y-board runs on 5 volt only: that will be easy to check on the power supply itself: there is nothing between that supply and the power cord accept the relay and automatic fuse. Since your fans are spinning, the supply should be powered.
Keep me posted!

samurajer
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2009, 12:48:44 AM »

Yes, during the test, some perimeter breach sensors weren't connected. But even with all of them connected, I'm not able to have something on screen or any move  oppps

Ok, it's time to test the 'untested' boards I got : 2 set of two boards... so here all the stuff I have now : 3 set of two boards.

Before removing the cage with the initial board, let's take a picture for the connectors location :





So I try the 'untested' set of two boards #1, and the 'untested' set of two boards #2 ...



...nothing happens... no move, black screen  confused

Ok, let's check the voltage...



...just before arriving on the boards... seems ok  arrow



Because he didn't have the 'motor drive boards' schematics, the previous owner tried a lot of experience on one of the two 'motor drive board'. Something go wrong because of that now... let's unplug the connector coming from them...



Power on and ... The game is back on screen  Kiss  arrow







...but as you can see, all the GFX are not there  oppps

let's plug the motor drive boards again... and ...

... the game is doing one of the two motor check  Kiss ... see that video  arrow



I'm now *almost* at the same point than the time I got it : game is working, and half motion only during the 'power on' test.

Ok, let's try to get back all the GFX on screen, let's swap boards from the three different set of boards I got... maybe two of them are working fine...



Argh... black screen and no motion on all the boards combination  Evil Let's put back the previously working combination : nothing! Let's unplug the motor drive boards : nothing!

A real nightmare!

It's like the motor drive boards infects game boards!?... very strange! Any Sega specialist around?  Cry I'm sure I have to change at least one of the two motor board/driver (motor digital powersupply on the Samurajer schema) , because it has been badly modified previously  Embarrassed


Logged

Samurajer
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2009, 11:49:13 AM »

Pretty interesting and not at all hopeless results though! I notice three things, which lead to a fourth:

1) on the working sega screen: your background is missing. This means that one of the 68000 is not acting, I believe. I don't know if that is actually one of the two boards.
2) disconnecting the DA/AD-board connector might help if there is a short circuit on one of the lines. But it might also be a switch of because of a failing selftest. But I can't tell...
3) but I did notice: you have the schematics and owners manual! excellent! Could you mail me a copy?
4) if you do, we could isolate the problem more easily!

good luck, and oh: beware of static electricity: 1988 boads are still very sensitive to that. Putting one on your nylon carpet would be unadvicable...

 
Logged
Samurajer
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: December 13, 2009, 02:11:15 PM »

By the way, I have a supply of light bulbs used in sega machines: 110-140V 6-10W These are used for instance in the chase lights of the G-loc.

I'd Be happy to send them to anyone in The Benelux... I have about 18 bulbs in stock.. It would be perfect to trade them against, say, the schematics of G-loc Wink

Logged
sega-sim-fan
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: January 11, 2010, 08:18:42 PM »

how are you getting on with this? these simulators need a lot of help!


cheers matt
www.mandccars.com/spaceharrier.htm
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11619


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: January 11, 2010, 08:26:22 PM »

Hi sega-sim-fan, and welcome here  Kiss

Well, I hope to have very soon a couple of motor drive boards.

I've already seen the incredible work you've done on your Space Harrier *deluxe*. Congratulation! Tongue Smiley Your pictures will be very helpful when I'll start to clean this G_Loc.  Wink
Logged

Samurajer
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: January 12, 2010, 03:31:43 PM »

Hi there DarthNuno,

hope your new driver boards work out. If that doesn't solve it, I think the board before that: the A/D D/A board is to blame. I analyzed the motor supplies to be driven by a simple four bit (four wire) control. 1 bit for the motor direction (thus supply polarity) and three bits for motor speed (supply voltage). You can simply test this with the actuators in the center position and making all four bits 'high' (+5 volt), for a very, very short time; the motors should run at maximum speed: so stop in time! Better of course to just measure the supply voltage with the motors disconnected. I do not know if the end switches are connected directly to the power supply or to the A/D/ D/A board... I guess they are not connected to the power supply as the motor test in the service screen can ignore them....

I don't know if you measured on the supplies yet... If they are dead, then that's that, but they are heavily protected by electronic overcurrent and thermal cut outs so I doubt wheather they died. Both of them! The only fragile part in the supplies is the H-bridge for the motor direction; these are easily repaired though (just four parts there).


please let me know; this shit is some damn fine Japanese electronic art!
 
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!