Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
October 01, 2020, 11:59:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: A couple of great finds: Punch-Out!! and Paperboy  (Read 11732 times)
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7561


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2010, 08:09:50 PM »

Yep, with a punch and a hammer
or with something like this in combination with a pin a little smaller than the hole:



then you can "push" the pin out
Logged
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6292


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2010, 08:36:21 PM »

Then the last question: how do you remove this?

see here Cheesy
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Reinhold
Member
**
Posts: 136


Denmark


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2010, 09:20:51 PM »

If it jams - force it.
If it brakes, it needed replacement anyway Cheesy

If i have a problem, then i just look up, (over my Monitor is a poster with Murphy's Law) Wink
Logged
flip971
Member
**
Posts: 236



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2010, 12:27:25 AM »


Then the last question: how do you remove this?



there's a cylindrical lock in it (they call it "roll pin" on the manual): should it be removed with a hammer?  Shocked


Try using an "allen" (in italian "Brugola"). There are various meausure. I'd like it on my bow.
Logged

Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6292


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2010, 08:19:05 AM »

it won't break out. it is a simple security bolt which holds the pieces together. you need to hammer it out (and later back in again). trust me, i've been there ... Tongue
« Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 01:36:14 PM by Superully » Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
baritonomarchetto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 540



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2010, 01:24:55 PM »

Then the last question: how do you remove this?

see here Cheesy

The history repeated Ully  Cheesy

thanks dudes. What about the primer for metal? Would it suffice to use acrilic based spray paint?
Logged

"A true Gentleman leaves no puzzle unsolved"
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6292


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2010, 01:36:46 PM »

which metal pieces do you want to use the primer on?
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
baritonomarchetto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 540



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2010, 04:43:47 PM »

which metal pieces do you want to use the primer on?

After a good sanding (or some immersion in a derusting solution) I was thinking to spray a transparent layer on the handlebars... i dont like the "chrome" when sprayed, and the option of a new chromium plating (like you did) is a bit too expensive ATM  oppps
Logged

"A true Gentleman leaves no puzzle unsolved"
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6292


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2010, 05:16:28 PM »

hm, the problem with spraying the handlebar is that i'm not sure it is going to withstand the pressure of normal gameplay! have you tried finding a chroming company?
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7561


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2010, 06:26:53 PM »

acrylic paint sucks always...  (IMHO)
Logged
baritonomarchetto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 540



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2010, 02:07:56 PM »

have you tried finding a chroming company?

No, i did not but it's going to be an option Wink

today i tested the second board: the game doesn't start, the screen is a white image, and nothing else happen. Switchin on the test mode, the game have self test and reports a ROM error at 6R... ok, i know how to face this... and the 6502 audio processor test fails... ok ok i will study the audio part in the future, let have the game mute-running before this ... BUT there's an odd thing: if i go on with the test, the "scrolling playfield" test shows a championship sprint track  shock AAAAND the "motion object height" test shows the frames of a championship sprint machine...

Remebering that on the PCB there's written "paperboy video", i must suppose that this "system 2" was converted to championship sprint at some point. I am planning to put the paperboy ROMs on this video board (using the Paperboy CPU board)and see what appens.

Just a question: on my originally installed Video Board (the one with garbaged image) i have PROMs and not EPROMS ... can i use EPROMs if some reburning will be necessary? (answer to self: Yes, 27xxx EPROMs can be used in place of 23xxx PROMs)







« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 06:32:38 PM by baritonomarchetto » Logged

"A true Gentleman leaves no puzzle unsolved"
baritonomarchetto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 540



View Profile
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2012, 08:42:14 PM »

Wow, time passes fast!

Some update on this project: during some "swapping boards" test, i reached the point i had a garbaged image (the garbage was changing position, so i thought to a RAM problem); the machine could coin up, but the game was not playable. After almost 10 hours of testing, the Atari disco 25KHz monitor decided to die...  Angry

Ok ok, no problem, i said to me: this is not the first monitor i fix... i can do it! I bought a new flyback (maybe the last one in the world for that bastard monitor... 35 dollars shipped), replaced the old one, replaced various sensible parts (caps, white resistors, poly caps close to the EAT, the HOT, etc). The monitor lit up again! ... for almost 20 minutes, then suddently dead again... everithing else i did was for nothing.

A couple of weeks ago, finally, i had the opportunity to install an Hitachi med res from a virtua cop 2 (those monitors are really rare): the monitor have burn in, but at least it works! It's now installed, even if it was not plug & play (different connectors, different pinouts, different working voltage (japanese 100V). I forgot to shot a pic, but the next week i will take it, i promise Wink

So, in the next weeks i hope i will have the time to work on my Paperboy (there are still big problems on the borad which now don't coin up anymore and shows fixed garbage, so probably i have not only RAM errors at this time)...

Stay tuned Smiley
Logged

"A true Gentleman leaves no puzzle unsolved"
baritonomarchetto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 540



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: May 26, 2012, 06:10:11 PM »

Ok, here t is the image of the new "block" in place (it's in the upper left side)



The "new" monitor in place



This morning I also had the time to make some test with the new burned ROMs, but the machine still has problems (of course)













There's garbage on screen and no sound, even if the ARII has been rebuilt



I am not sure that the PCB problems are only RAM related (the "garbage" doesn't change position with time), anyhow having some new 6116 it's worth the try Wink




Logged

"A true Gentleman leaves no puzzle unsolved"
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!