Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
September 25, 2020, 01:17:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: 110 - 220 converter  (Read 14833 times)
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13552


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2010, 11:04:23 AM »

Wow that one looks a lot smaller than the other's. Are you sure it's specced at 200W ? (Did you check on the device itself ? Could be an error on the site.)
Does it run warm/hot ?

Oh and, It's MS. Pac and not MRS. Pac Wink
Logged

gyruss
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2332


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2010, 11:20:43 AM »

I played the game on friday for 3 hours, and it didn't get very hot, just warm.
I'll check the device itself tonight and will let you know.

Yes, I know it's ms pac man, just finished reading the story why they changed it from miss to ms.  Grin

Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7561


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2010, 12:31:05 PM »

I bought this one:

http://www.allekabels.nl/na/0/1076001/Omvormer-230V---110V,-200-Watt.html

16.95 and i got it two days later, works great.


very nice, only not grounded...

it works , sure, but i would go for a grounded one instead
Logged
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2010, 12:34:27 PM »

very nice, only not grounded...

it works , sure, but i would go for a grounded one instead

Indeed, that is strange.   Huh? Grounded one is the way to go.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13552


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2010, 12:42:00 PM »

Mmmm, if your wall-outlet is ungrounded, there's very little use in a grounded step-down.

I grounded everything in my Gameroom, but according to regulations it's not necessary in Holland (because there are earth-leak protectors on ungrounded groups).

Grounding is only required if you're going to run your Ms.Pac in a "wet" area like your kitchen or bathroom Wink
Also, if you insist on grounding the machine you can simply run the ground wire directly to the ground point inside the machine.

O wait I see there's an ungrounded plug on this one. You could replace that with a grounded plug and factory attached 3 core wire and run the ground-wire to ground connection inside the cab.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 12:48:52 PM by Level42 » Logged

gyruss
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2332


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 15, 2010, 01:24:26 PM »

There is no water in my gameroom, so I guess I'm safe to use this one.  Cheesy

Pfff, all this technical talk makes my head spin, I just want to play those games  Wink Wink

« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 01:27:49 PM by gyruss » Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13552


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: March 15, 2010, 04:37:44 PM »

Hey playing games is serious business Wink
Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7561


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: March 15, 2010, 05:00:05 PM »

There is no water in my gameroom, so I guess I'm safe to use this one.  Cheesy

Pfff, all this technical talk makes my head spin, I just want to play those games  Wink Wink



we just don't want that you are the conductor between the ground and the metal part of the joystick in case of a short Grin
Logged
gyruss
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2332


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 15, 2010, 08:32:27 PM »

I just checked, the converter is 200 watt and my wall-outlet is indeed ungrounded.

So is it safe to use the one I got?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2010, 08:34:19 PM by gyruss » Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13552


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: March 15, 2010, 08:36:21 PM »

Yes sir.

Pretty amazing that small thing is 200 Watt.
Logged

gyruss
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2332


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: March 15, 2010, 08:39:53 PM »

great, thanks! What would I do without level 42? Wink
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13552


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2010, 12:04:10 PM »

I bought this one:

http://www.allekabels.nl/na/0/1076001/Omvormer-230V---110V,-200-Watt.html

16.95 and i got it two days later, works great.

Ordered one too. I want to reserve the one I already have for my future work-bench.
Thanks for the tip !
Logged

gyruss
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2332


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: March 24, 2010, 01:19:51 PM »

You're welcome.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13552


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2010, 12:52:10 AM »

Well turned out I cancelled the order very quickly. I received an e-mail from Robin (the other arcade collector from my town Wink ) that he had a 220V->110V transformer for me, and even included a picture:


I was impressed: A real DUTCH built transformer by "De Drie" company from Ede. Now where would you find something like that nowadays ?

[EDIT] Well, turns out they are still alive and kicking: http://doesburg-bv.com/index.php?page=leveringsprogramma
Sometimes, it's surprising that not EVERYTHING comes from China.....

Looks like it's built in '88 close enough for me Wink
It's specced at 180VA so that's plenty for the Ms.Pac cab. Look at my Ms.Pac thread for more...

Thank you very much for this very nice transformer Robin !  Space Ace Space Ace Space Ace
« Last Edit: March 28, 2010, 01:09:39 AM by Level42 » Logged

ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2010, 11:56:34 AM »

That is indeed a very nice transformer. The company is situated very nearby my town, and as I also need a few transformers, I just incquired with them for a bulk price of 10 pieces.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!