Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
January 17, 2022, 06:17:03 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Zaccaria Power board issue -5V too low  (Read 7326 times)
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« on: September 07, 2017, 07:47:17 AM »


Guys, who knows how to regulate the 5V on the Zaccaria Power board, or how to modify the board so that I will be able to regulate it. The attached pictures show the one in my Moon Crest and it is only spitting out about 4.35V, sometimes even less, and Moon Crest doesn't like it (glitches on the screen etc.).


* Zaccaria Power board-1.jpg (219.77 KB, 1000x750 - viewed 618 times.)

* Zaccaria Power board-2.jpg (198.19 KB, 1000x750 - viewed 593 times.)
Logged
italiandoh
Member
**
Posts: 431


Italy


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 08:48:16 PM »

I don't have the schematics, but judging from the pics you provided, it looks like the voltage regulation pot has been replaced by a fixed value resistor (see that circular spot with a 'T' nearby). I guess T stands for trimmer. Anyway, I would do a recap and see what happens before trying the mod.

Matteo
Logged
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 11:05:37 PM »

OK, that makes sense. I believe the power board on the Crazy Kong cab also had this resistor and Etičnne 'fixed' it by replacing it for a pod. Will check that out. Thanks for pointing me in that direction.  Smiley
Logged
Digimon
Member
**
Posts: 482


Germany - Hamburg


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2017, 12:16:07 AM »

I always recap the PSU, and add a trimmer like Paul:

http://www.zzzaccaria.com/ZaxxonRestoration.htm
Logged

Searching Zaccaria Stuff: Zaxxon CPO, JumpBug CPO or CPO Repro
next project: assemble Zaccaria Vanguard.
Belike
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 4742


Budapest, Hungary


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2017, 08:58:24 AM »

I always recap the PSU, and add a trimmer like Paul:

http://www.zzzaccaria.com/ZaxxonRestoration.htm
Absolutely +1 Grin
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7591


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2017, 09:12:14 AM »

I was going to say, Check the inside your CK ;-)

Click here to go to the page of my modification and value of the pot


* zacc power.JPG (150.62 KB, 583x409 - viewed 615 times.)
« Last Edit: September 08, 2017, 09:16:05 AM by Etienne MacGyver » Logged
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2017, 11:03:38 AM »

Absolutely +1 Grin


What type of trimmer is it, Bela? do you have an article number, so that I can order them?
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7591


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2017, 12:06:57 PM »

Its a 47 Ohm pot according to the manual.
Logged
Belike
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 4742


Budapest, Hungary


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2017, 12:41:34 PM »

Paul used an 50 Ohm one, I guess it is also ok.
You just have to browse for a 47 or 50 Ohm trimmer potmeter. Wink
Reading that part from Paul's Zaxxon resto would be also useful.
Logged
Digimon
Member
**
Posts: 482


Germany - Hamburg


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2017, 04:13:32 PM »

I use 50ohm Trimmer.

but I have no order no.;-(
Logged

Searching Zaccaria Stuff: Zaxxon CPO, JumpBug CPO or CPO Repro
next project: assemble Zaccaria Vanguard.
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2017, 07:11:49 PM »

Thank you all.
Logged
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2018, 11:59:14 AM »

Hi Guys, everything OK?

I finally got some capacitors and a trimmer pot, to solve the 5V issue and do the trimmer pot mod. Anyway, I replaced all caps and now I have a steady 5,27V. Possibly even a bit too high, so getting the trimmer pot installed is not a bad idea.

However, how to install it (I'm terrible at reading electronic schematics)? I've got the trimmer and there are six solder points where I can put the 3 legs (or two) of the trimmer pot, see attached picture. If someone could tell me which of the six points I use for which of the 3 legs of the pot.... that would be helpful (my assumption is A to 1 and B to 2 and forget about C).

I know I have to ditch the resistor.


* Potmeter.png (756.66 KB, 800x600 - viewed 590 times.)
Logged
Digimon
Member
**
Posts: 482


Germany - Hamburg


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2018, 01:02:56 PM »

you can do it like this:



Logged

Searching Zaccaria Stuff: Zaxxon CPO, JumpBug CPO or CPO Repro
next project: assemble Zaccaria Vanguard.
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2018, 01:33:11 PM »

Thx.  Cheesy

And done. Caps replaced and trimmer pot added.


* power board update and trimmer mod.jpg (154.68 KB, 800x600 - viewed 588 times.)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2018, 02:20:29 PM by ckong » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!