Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
May 28, 2017, 03:05:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: :: ROAD TRIP :: BUGGY BOY by TATSUMI [presented in triple screen]  (Read 15443 times)
Giddygoon
Member
**
Posts: 124



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2015, 11:16:55 AM »

Well done Bruno,

One of my favs.....

Defo the triple screen version too...

Love the optical wheel, like Pole position

Can't wait for you to add your magic restoration
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11447


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2015, 11:43:05 AM »

Ok, now let's figure out the problem on that cabinet.

First power on and first game! Check out the video arrow




So as you can see :




- red color is missing on the 'middle' monitor
- vertical collapse on the 'right' monitor

Semi good new : the missing sounds... are back!?  Smiley But they are at very low volume, almost hidden by the sound of the monitor engine which is really loud...so this is anyway an issue to fix.


Here the view of the three monitors :



The 'right' monitor (the 'left' from the back view) in not the same model than the two others monitors. It's the one that has the 'vertical collapse' problem.
Because it's not the original monitor, the wiring has been 'adapted'?, see the following picture  arrow



Next step is to identify more precisely to model that monitor 'Hantarex Polo 14" and find out what is the component responsible for that 'vertical collapse' problem?
Did you already have an idea about how to fix this so far?

Oh, I also have to identify the wiring, especially the ones that go to that monitor and figure out the purpose of that 'modified wiring' ...

I had few manuals with that cabinet, but I'm not sure if it's for that specific Tastumi model. Will check that.
Logged

jcp
Member
**
Posts: 415



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2015, 02:41:10 PM »

Bruno, you should not switch on the monitor on the right if you don't want the cab to catch fire.
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11447


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2015, 05:02:33 PM »

Bruno, you should not switch on the monitor on the right if you don't want the cab to catch fire.

Yeps, don't worry, it was just to show all the troubles  Wink
Logged

jcp
Member
**
Posts: 415



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2015, 05:16:14 PM »

 Smiley.
Otherwise, you should put the NOS Hantarex monitor in the cab (well, if you have paid Sam of course!).
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13441


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2015, 11:06:04 AM »

What size are the CRT"s ?

The chassis on the left says its for 14".......
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11447


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2015, 11:15:14 AM »

Yep, it's a triple 14" CRT monitor setup.
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13441


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2015, 11:19:25 AM »

Ah OK !
Logged

spectroman
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 85


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2015, 11:39:16 AM »

Hi bruno,

first you have to disconnect and reconnect the remote control board.

After you have to measure voltage +27V at the output of the power supply (on TP6).

If I remember correctly, the TDA1675 stop working below 24V

Otherwise, on theses boards, I've change sometime C139 (1000F/35V), C137 (220F/35V) or D127

measure on TP31.
Logged
jcp
Member
**
Posts: 415



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2015, 02:55:49 PM »

Bruno, firstly, you should check the wiring, the connectors and the voltages (remember, you've got some documentation).
Don't change at random components.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2015, 02:58:20 PM by jcp » Logged
synonym9
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 682


...


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: August 16, 2015, 10:04:06 PM »



AAAAOOOOOHHHHH!!!!

It is no secret that I love the multi-monitor-arcades....as well as the Hang-On Bike.
I have the red one and came across a blue one too, but it was too expensive to me...unfortunately.
Logged

I have a dream....that one day....all members of forum are the same....no matter how long ago they have joined, how many games they own or how many posts they wrote Wink
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11447


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: August 17, 2015, 09:17:52 PM »

first you have to disconnect and reconnect the remote control board.
After you have to measure voltage +27V at the output of the power supply (on TP6).
If I remember correctly, the TDA1675 stop working below 24V
Otherwise, on theses boards, I've change sometime C139 (1000F/35V), C137 (220F/35V) or D127
measure on TP31.

Thanks Fred for these precise indications.  Kiss I'm gonna check that as soon as I can.
I'll open a dedicated topic for the monitor repair, and probably other ones for specific failures.
But for now, let's continue the first examination.

Oh yes, the documentation I got with the cabinet...



Well, it's not the one for this specific cabinet, but for the "Speed Buggy"Data East version. As far as I've seen, yeah, there are few similitudes, but most of the wiring in these manuals don't match the one on this TASTUMI version. In addition, none of these manuals includes boards schematics... it's better than nothing but I really have to find the manual/wiring/schematic for this specific cabinet model  Undecided

So what is the 'engine' of that beast? :



The game board :



The 'lose' connector is -I would say- the one that goes to the rear/seat cabinet part I don't have, to be connect at the rear speakers?

Original TATSUMI board (I'm wondering why scribbles on the ICs surface by the way)  arrow



It's a triple PCB  (and there's even a fourth small mini-PCB behind the first/biggest one)  arrow



Few wires going to the main connector pcb have been cut/hacked/repaired?...dunno yet  arrow



Unknown board so far ...



Sound amp board I would say :



Now I would be curious to know if the game board from the other version of the game (Buggy Boy Jr, Speed Buggy, single or triple screens) are similar to the one inside that Tatsumi version?
Logged

bartie
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 79



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: August 17, 2015, 10:57:07 PM »

I think i have downloaded it in the past the schematics for the game.
Can you do something with it?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GljfKEdEVmYkl3bjctaGluZEE/view?usp=sharing
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13441


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: August 18, 2015, 01:04:52 AM »

The "scribbles" on the ICs were done as to "hide" what chips were used for pirates/bootleggers.
Often also the markings were simply sanded off.

That extra board as a very old EPROM on it....weird. it says TILT on the label.....even weirder Smiley

Maybe a credit board ?
Logged

lesoleil70
Member
**
Posts: 256


Wales, Cymru Am Byth


View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: August 18, 2015, 10:52:18 AM »

Bruno, I don't know if this will be of any help to you, I just noticed that on the arcade boneyard site they are currently breaking up a speed buggy for parts.
Here the link.

Handy site for us all to bookmark, I got a few pieces from here this year.

http://thearcadeboneyard.com/kill_list.php
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!