Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
June 23, 2017, 07:19:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: :: Workshop :: Pleiads  (Read 52085 times)
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« on: October 19, 2008, 09:50:45 PM »


Following this roadtrip :



Let's start the renovation of this Pleiads cab'.

This is the official Spanish cabinet version for the game, done by Irecsa, under the Thekan/ Centuri (and Midway?) license.

I'll start with the control panel  arrow



As you can see on the picture :

- An hole has been drilled for an additional button
- I don't think it's the original joystick because the current one it a 4 ways and a bigger hole has been drilled to fix it
- The plexiglass is broken

 Evil Evil Evil  arrow



OK, the first step is to do a high resolution of the control panel overlay (2 x 20MB .TIFF file) :





The 'vecto' work is already on the way by Nickos69 from the french website gamoover.net on this post. Sneak Preview  arrow



Many thanks to you Nickos69 for the great work done until now on this  Kiss Kiss Kiss

Because of the additional button added, I'm not able to read what's written of the fire button  Undecided

Can someone help me to guess what is the word written ? I presume it's a Spanish word ?!

D . . A R O

or 

D . . . A R O ?

Any idea ?
Logged

polaris
Member
**
Posts: 263


veni vidi congai


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2008, 11:11:54 PM »

hi bruno
all the photos i can find of this game have two action buttons, fire and warp.
does yours definitely just need one
 Space Ace

Logged

just keeping an eye on things
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 01:28:54 PM »

Hi Polaris,

Nope, Pleiads has only one fire button  Tongue

I presume you've seen some Phoenix cabs pictures, which have two buttons : one fore fire and one for the shield.
I would my cabinet has been modified in the past to play a two buttons game, most probably Phoenix. I can see the hack in the wires, the button added and its hole is different than the others buttons of the panel.
I guess Pheonix->Pleiads conversion was very easy to do at the time... same wires loom  Tongue But the Pleiads to Phoenix required to add this extra button  oppps

Good news  Grin I know what was written for the fire button  arrow The missing letters are : I S P  arrow

D I S P A R O

It just means 'Fire' in Spanish or Portuguese  Cheesy 
Logged

logan
Member
**
Posts: 200



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2008, 01:56:39 PM »

so you wanna keep the spanish words? or switching to english? Smiley
Logged
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2008, 05:08:07 PM »

so you wanna keep the spanish words? or switching to english? Smiley

Nope... As much original as possible ...I'll keep the spanish (or Portuguese?) words  Space Ace
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2008, 10:34:14 PM »

hi bruno
all the photos i can find of this game have two action buttons, fire and warp.
does yours definitely just need one
 Space Ace


Well, it's very strange... I don't recall to use that 'Warp' button on that game, but the manual mention that button.
I've just try the game via mame on my computer, but this 'Warp' button doesn't do anything during the play  Huh?
I'm almost sure the panel of cab was supposed to have only one button, because the CPO  mention only one fire button (the famous "DISPARO")  confused
Logged

scr33n
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 1674



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2008, 06:42:51 PM »


Nope, Pleiads has only one fire button  Tongue
 

Bruno, take a look - PLEIADS original control panel:



but in Mame i've the same problem, Warp button doesn't work  Huh? Huh?
Logged

PROJECTS FROM SCRATCH:

Galaga - PacMan - Donkey Kong Red Cab - Track & Field Upright - Tempest - Burgertime - Gyruss - Defender - Track & Field Cocktail - Robotron 2084

RESTORATIONS:

Q*bert - Timber
liquidx
Member
**
Posts: 431


Bruxhell, Belgium


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2008, 11:42:39 PM »


When I played it as a kid in a converted Phoenix cabinet I remember the barrier/warp button would transport you to another part of the screen, a bit like the hyperspace button in Asteroids.


Logged

findapinball.com - The European pinball locator
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2008, 07:41:35 PM »

This question of one or two buttons about this game is wired  oppps

Let's investigate  pacman

* On the US flyer of the game [CENTURI]  arrow



...you can see two buttons for moving the ship to the left/right, and TWO buttons (fire and certainly a 'shield' or 'warp')


*On the EURO (and/or probably JAPANESE) flyer of the game [TEHKAN]  arrow



...it's a joystick for moving the ship, and I would say only one button for fire (difficult to see on the picture) ?!

My board is labeled Tehkan, and I know a lot of dedicated games for Europe were based on the Japanese version (ex : my Namco's Galaxian Theater, StarBlade, ...).

So I would say my Spanish version of Pleiads -like the Japanese one- has only one fire button ?!

...but ... but the coin door is also labeled Midway...which is US manufacturer of course... so what  shock Undecided

This cabinet would be a mix of everything... assembled by that Spanish label : Irecsa ?...
Logged

polaris
Member
**
Posts: 263


veni vidi congai


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2008, 09:28:45 PM »

Hey Bruno
i don't have a mame setup at the moment, why not try the different rom versions for comparison.
 Space Ace


Logged

just keeping an eye on things
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2008, 06:26:29 PM »

Hey Bruno
i don't have a mame setup at the moment, why not try the different rom versions for comparison.
 Space Ace




Good idea  Kiss After testing in mame (0.119) I have the answer  arrow

In the Centuri roms version, there is a *warp* button you can press during the play.

In the Tehkan roms, the warp button has no effect.

So, my board is a Tehkan, it confirms that the orginal panel has only ONE button for *fire* and no warp button  Cool

The vecto of the CPO is now done  Kiss Many many thanks to Nickos69 for that great job  Kiss Kiss Kiss  arrow



 Space Ace Space Ace Space Ace
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2008, 11:18:01 AM »

Let's do an overall view of the cab.

Here's the beast (don't pay attention about the mess in the new game room opppsarrow



A part of the T-Molding is missing here :



It's a flat T-Molding without the 'T'  roll eyes Do you know where to found similar model by the way ?

The broken CPO plexiglass  Sad



Both side arts are in great condition  Cool  arrow





A small crack in the wood, hopefully in the back/ bottom of the cab  arrow



The front side art, in a good condition :



Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11453


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2008, 08:40:00 AM »

First thing to do... replacing the old monitor (which has serious synchro / colors problems  Ghost) by a *brand* new one.

Of course, I'll use a new TV with a full RGB ntsc signals of course (I love SCART  Grin).

I just need to build a custom adapter RGB to SCART... easy stuff  Roll Eyes Tongue Grin  arrow



Done  Cool  arrow



I just need to replace the end of the original wires going to the monitor ...



...by my SCART adapter.

My TV need a signal in order to swith to RGB. Let's find the correct voltage for the specific RBG pin... Got it  Cool  arrow



Power on ...


YATA !!!




It works fine  Kiss Kiss Kiss  arrow





I love RGB  Kiss  Space Ace
Logged

polaris
Member
**
Posts: 263


veni vidi congai


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2008, 04:04:22 PM »

hey bruno
why not get regular t mold and trim off the spine, would that work?
 Space Ace

Logged

just keeping an eye on things
Valsimot
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2008, 07:05:56 PM »

First thing to do... replacing the old monitor (which has serious synchro / colors problems  Ghost)

That monitor wouldn't happen to be a Hantarex would it? I hear people don't like them much...
Logged

Generic cab #1 - 1-slot MVS - Puzzle Bobble (Boot)
Generic cab #2 - empty-ish
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!