Author Topic: :: Workshop :: Pleiads  (Read 95711 times)

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
:: Workshop :: Pleiads
« on: October 19, 2008, 08:50:45 PM »
Following this roadtrip :



Let's start the renovation of this Pleiads cab'.

This is the official Spanish cabinet version for the game, done by Irecsa, under the Thekan/ Centuri (and Midway?) license.

I'll start with the control panel  :arrow:



As you can see on the picture :

- An hole has been drilled for an additional button
- I don't think it's the original joystick because the current one it a 4 ways and a bigger hole has been drilled to fix it
- The plexiglass is broken

 :evil: :evil: :evil:  :arrow:



OK, the first step is to do a high resolution of the control panel overlay (2 x 20MB .TIFF file) :





The 'vecto' work is already on the way by Nickos69 from the french website gamoover.net on this post. Sneak Preview  :arrow:



Many thanks to you Nickos69 for the great work done until now on this  :-* :-* :-*

Because of the additional button added, I'm not able to read what's written of the fire button  :-\

Can someone help me to guess what is the word written ? I presume it's a Spanish word ?!

D . . A R O

or 

D . . . A R O ?

Any idea ?

polaris

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 263
  • veni vidi congai
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2008, 10:11:54 PM »
hi bruno
all the photos i can find of this game have two action buttons, fire and warp.
does yours definitely just need one
 :spaceace:

just keeping an eye on things

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 12:28:54 PM »
Hi Polaris,

Nope, Pleiads has only one fire button  :P

I presume you've seen some Phoenix cabs pictures, which have two buttons : one fore fire and one for the shield.
I would my cabinet has been modified in the past to play a two buttons game, most probably Phoenix. I can see the hack in the wires, the button added and its hole is different than the others buttons of the panel.
I guess Pheonix->Pleiads conversion was very easy to do at the time... same wires loom  :P But the Pleiads to Phoenix required to add this extra button  :oops:

Good news  ;D I know what was written for the fire button  :arrow: The missing letters are : I S P  :arrow:

D I S P A R O

It just means 'Fire' in Spanish or Portuguese  :D 

logan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 200
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2008, 12:56:39 PM »
so you wanna keep the spanish words? or switching to english? :)

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2008, 04:08:07 PM »
so you wanna keep the spanish words? or switching to english? :)

Nope... As much original as possible ...I'll keep the spanish (or Portuguese?) words  :spaceace:

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2008, 09:34:14 PM »
hi bruno
all the photos i can find of this game have two action buttons, fire and warp.
does yours definitely just need one
 :spaceace:


Well, it's very strange... I don't recall to use that 'Warp' button on that game, but the manual mention that button.
I've just try the game via mame on my computer, but this 'Warp' button doesn't do anything during the play  ???
I'm almost sure the panel of cab was supposed to have only one button, because the CPO  mention only one fire button (the famous "DISPARO")  :?

scr33n

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1674
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2008, 05:42:51 PM »

Nope, Pleiads has only one fire button  :P
 

Bruno, take a look - PLEIADS original control panel:



but in Mame i've the same problem, Warp button doesn't work  ??? ???
PROJECTS FROM SCRATCH:

Galaga - PacMan - Donkey Kong Red Cab - Track & Field Upright - Tempest - Burgertime - Gyruss - Defender - Track & Field Cocktail - Robotron 2084

RESTORATIONS:

Q*bert - Timber

liquidx

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 431
  • Bruxhell, Belgium
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2008, 10:42:39 PM »

When I played it as a kid in a converted Phoenix cabinet I remember the barrier/warp button would transport you to another part of the screen, a bit like the hyperspace button in Asteroids.


findapinball.com - The European pinball locator

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2008, 07:41:35 PM »
This question of one or two buttons about this game is wired  :oops:

Let's investigate  :pac:

* On the US flyer of the game [CENTURI]  :arrow:



...you can see two buttons for moving the ship to the left/right, and TWO buttons (fire and certainly a 'shield' or 'warp')


*On the EURO (and/or probably JAPANESE) flyer of the game [TEHKAN]  :arrow:



...it's a joystick for moving the ship, and I would say only one button for fire (difficult to see on the picture) ?!

My board is labeled Tehkan, and I know a lot of dedicated games for Europe were based on the Japanese version (ex : my Namco's Galaxian Theater, StarBlade, ...).

So I would say my Spanish version of Pleiads -like the Japanese one- has only one fire button ?!

...but ... but the coin door is also labeled Midway...which is US manufacturer of course... so what  :shock: :-\

This cabinet would be a mix of everything... assembled by that Spanish label : Irecsa ?...

polaris

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 263
  • veni vidi congai
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2008, 09:28:45 PM »
Hey Bruno
i don't have a mame setup at the moment, why not try the different rom versions for comparison.
 :spaceace:


just keeping an eye on things

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2008, 06:26:29 PM »
Hey Bruno
i don't have a mame setup at the moment, why not try the different rom versions for comparison.
 :spaceace:




Good idea  :-* After testing in mame (0.119) I have the answer  :arrow:

In the Centuri roms version, there is a *warp* button you can press during the play.

In the Tehkan roms, the warp button has no effect.

So, my board is a Tehkan, it confirms that the orginal panel has only ONE button for *fire* and no warp button  8)

The vecto of the CPO is now done  :-* Many many thanks to Nickos69 for that great job  :-* :-* :-*  :arrow:



 :spaceace: :spaceace: :spaceace:

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2008, 11:18:01 AM »
Let's do an overall view of the cab.

Here's the beast (don't pay attention about the mess in the new game room :oops::arrow:



A part of the T-Molding is missing here :



It's a flat T-Molding without the 'T'  :roll: Do you know where to found similar model by the way ?

The broken CPO plexiglass  :(



Both side arts are in great condition  8)  :arrow:





A small crack in the wood, hopefully in the back/ bottom of the cab  :arrow:



The front side art, in a good condition :




DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2008, 08:40:00 AM »
First thing to do... replacing the old monitor (which has serious synchro / colors problems  :ghost:) by a *brand* new one.

Of course, I'll use a new TV with a full RGB ntsc signals of course (I love SCART  ;D).

I just need to build a custom adapter RGB to SCART... easy stuff  ::) :P ;D  :arrow:



Done  8)  :arrow:



I just need to replace the end of the original wires going to the monitor ...



...by my SCART adapter.

My TV need a signal in order to swith to RGB. Let's find the correct voltage for the specific RBG pin... Got it  8)  :arrow:



Power on ...


YATA !!!




It works fine  :-* :-* :-*  :arrow:





I love RGB  :-*  :spaceace:

polaris

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 263
  • veni vidi congai
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2008, 04:04:22 PM »
hey bruno
why not get regular t mold and trim off the spine, would that work?
 :spaceace:

just keeping an eye on things

Valsimot

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: :: Workshop :: Pleiads
« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2008, 07:05:56 PM »
First thing to do... replacing the old monitor (which has serious synchro / colors problems  :ghost:)

That monitor wouldn't happen to be a Hantarex would it? I hear people don't like them much...