Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
December 09, 2021, 05:29:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
  Print  
Author Topic: [Roadtrip] It's not a race (anymore), it's a RALLY  (Read 83581 times)
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #60 on: December 08, 2010, 08:43:42 PM »

Yeah, that wouldn't be unlikely at all...

Ully, put your meter in AC voltage and put the test leads on both legs of the capacitors (the big one, but also try the smaller one's).
Then power on the machine.

Let's hear what you measure....

(the thing is that the capacitor is supposed to filter out any "left over" AC voltage. When the capacitor is bad (like Lascheck mentions) you will see a certain AC voltage there.

After you've done the AC voltage measuring switch the meter to Voltage DC measuring for the big capacitor..and let's see the result.
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #61 on: December 08, 2010, 08:44:58 PM »

Make a pic of the pots and check the value (ohms).
Logged

Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6299


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #62 on: December 08, 2010, 09:00:02 PM »

Ully, put your meter in AC voltage and put the test leads on both legs of the capacitors (the big one, but also try the smaller one's).
Then power on the machine.
Let's hear what you measure....

AC measured the big silver capacitor right next to the edge connector. result: 0.47 volts
AC measured the smaller silver capacitor right next to the big silver capacitor. result: 0.014 volts

 
After you've done the AC voltage measuring switch the meter to Voltage DC measuring for the big capacitor..and let's see the result.

switched to DC took some measures:

DC measured the big silver capacitor right next to the edge connector. result: 8.7 volts
DC measured the smaller silver capacitor right next to the big silver capacitor. result: 5.1 volts

Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #63 on: December 08, 2010, 09:00:58 PM »

Guys, you should be on skype or something like that. This topic shows almost live communication at the moment. and it's great to follow.

Ully, don't feel ashamed, I'm sure I know much less of electronics then you do. But them again, I'm great in business finance and control.  Smiley

Edit: this is exactly what I mean, there was another new post while writing my brief message.  lol

Edit2: This road trip report completely derails!  Wink Cheesy
Logged
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6299


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #64 on: December 08, 2010, 09:01:14 PM »

BTW:

THX FOR YOUR HELP GUYS Space Ace Space Ace Space Ace
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6299


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #65 on: December 08, 2010, 09:02:18 PM »

But them again, I'm great in business finance and control.  Smiley

and i'm a pretty good teacher i think Wink Wink Wink
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Laschek
Guest
« Reply #66 on: December 08, 2010, 09:05:34 PM »

Maybe flicking that switch does the trick?  Grin
Logged
Brry71
Member
**
Posts: 150



View Profile WWW
« Reply #67 on: December 08, 2010, 09:08:13 PM »



question: where's the ball?

<silly mode>Well, you did transport it laying flat... Didn't they roll out of the cab? lol </silly mode>
Logged

LOOKING FOR: a license to print money.....

And a Pacman. And a Donkey Kong.
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6299


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #68 on: December 08, 2010, 09:13:05 PM »

You should check if the board gets a good +5V. I recommend measuring at the voltage regulator (that thing surrounded by the heatsink). This part should be the last part in the +5V circuit and give out, well, around +5V DC...

just did the measuring at the voltage regulator (thx for the link, sascha): steady at +5.10 volts. so we're good here!
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Laschek
Guest
« Reply #69 on: December 08, 2010, 09:15:59 PM »

So everything's fine, congratulations!  Grin Grin Grin Wink
Logged
Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6299


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #70 on: December 08, 2010, 09:25:21 PM »

something else wrong with the board then?
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #71 on: December 08, 2010, 10:04:08 PM »

Replace "SW 2"  Grin
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #72 on: December 08, 2010, 11:15:32 PM »

Well, there's a shit-load of 74xx logic chips there that can have a fault.

It's probably only one or two, but the difficulty is: which.

Here is where my limits start to come up.

Oh, and I never meant to be "insulting" guys (you know). Just want to prevent explosions Wink



Logged

Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6299


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #73 on: December 09, 2010, 06:52:59 AM »

i've found a guy in the usa who's specialized in PONG board repairs. he agreed to have a look at my RALLY board and do the necessary repairs. would you guys send it off?

or is there someone around here who wants to have a go at it?

@sascha: who repaired your boards?
@andré: do you think speleo would be able to fix it?
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Laschek
Guest
« Reply #74 on: December 09, 2010, 08:50:44 AM »

@sascha: who repaired your boards?

If I can't fix it myself then nobody can  Grin
Just kidding, we had our Super Bug repaired by Speleo and where very pleased with his service, I would ask him before sending it off to the US.

Then we had sent our Crystal Castles PCB to Golytronic in Pforzheim..., I am sure he would be able to repair your PCB... Thing is we never got our board back...  Evil

That's one reason why I try to learn as much as possible and do it myself...

Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!