Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
December 10, 2019, 11:59:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
  Print  
Author Topic: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !  (Read 44558 times)
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #90 on: May 16, 2010, 09:21:10 PM »

Great to see the cabinet in use again, to bad it didnt make much money. Offtopic: I came across some super mario toys but the are expensive!! I guess 50 euro is too much for one??
Wow yes, they are cheaper on internet !

http://cgi.ebay.com/Super-Mario-Bros-8-5-22cm-Mario-Vinyl-Figure-/160409590828?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_VideoGames_Merchandise_RL&hash=item2559281c2c

Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #91 on: May 16, 2010, 10:48:38 PM »

Image as requested by Ully:


I still have to make the wiring more neat and I need to clean the complete inside still.

By the way, where was this originally inside the cab ?

Logged

Muerto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3828


Denmark


View Profile
« Reply #92 on: May 16, 2010, 11:49:08 PM »

looking good André!
Where did you buy it? and at what price? - ill be needing at least 4.....
Logged

Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6273


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #93 on: May 17, 2010, 12:00:49 AM »

thx for the pic, andré. this converter really looks as if it were meant to be placed there  Wink. regarding the "sticker": don't know if it helps or if its the same, but the pac-man sticker with corresponding contents is placed on the monitor board. do you need pics?
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #94 on: May 17, 2010, 06:15:07 AM »

looking good André!
Where did you buy it? and at what price? - ill be needing at least 4.....
I got it from Robin. It's Dutch built. Erik contacted the factory about them for a groupbuy but I don't think it materialized:
http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor/index.php?topic=1481.0

and here's more info about the one I got from Robin:
http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor/index.php?topic=1428.msg15311#msg15311
Logged

ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #95 on: May 17, 2010, 08:35:02 AM »

Erik contacted the factory about them for a groupbuy but I don't think it materialized

That is correct, total lack of interest.  Huh?  But I know now where to get them, and one day I might order some for my cabs, probably around the time my gameroom is finished.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #96 on: May 30, 2010, 10:37:05 PM »

Damn, the Ms. just "died in my arms tonight" !

Was playing great and suddenly a freeze and then complete darkness ! Yikes !

Not the monitor, just zero game responses....

No time to investigate now..... Evil
Logged

Ronald Reagan
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 818



View Profile
« Reply #97 on: May 30, 2010, 10:37:49 PM »

the horror!! Twisted Evil Evil Evil
Logged

An Error Has Occurred!
The last posting from your IP was less than 40 seconds ago. Please try again later.
ckong
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3176


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #98 on: May 30, 2010, 11:25:37 PM »

Probably not the infamous kill screen, is it.   Wink
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #99 on: May 31, 2010, 04:35:13 PM »

If only.....

I just tried Arcadecollection's board (which I had loaned for a while, thanks Rob !) and it works fine. So power supply etc. is fine. I still checked all the fuses, no problems.

I checked out this site:
lawnmowerman.rotheblog.com
which is a great source for Pac info. For a dead board there's only the suggestion of replacing 74LS74 at C8.
I measured and compared with Rob's working board and indeed I get some differences on the pins there.

Next I noticed that the crystals' legs were pretty much bent on my board. I also noticed that the top obviously had been soldered at one time, but was now loose. I checked on Rob's board and the case of the crystal definitly needs to be (really ?) soldered.
I find this pretty weird, I've never seen it before on other boards. So I figured to take a closer look and then, snap, one of the crystal's legs broke. The other one was on it's way down too, so I ripped it off.

Ordered a couple of new one's and some 74LS74's.....and now wait for delivery.....
Logged

Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6273


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #100 on: May 31, 2010, 04:50:36 PM »

damn, sorry to hear that! i'm pretty sure you can get it back up and running though, but you're down to the worst part of it all: WAITING!!! good luck, andre
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #101 on: May 31, 2010, 04:56:15 PM »

Thanks ! Just noticed that the 3 chips around the crystal have already been socketed (and so probably replaced) before on Rob's board. So I'll add these chips to the order, they cost close to nothing anyway.

The waiting won't be too bad, with RSonline, stuff is usually here within a day or 2-3. I still can't understand that I can buy 2 crystals for a total sum of €0.88 INCL. tax and they can ship it to me and still make money ?!?!? I know they probably have a bulk contract with the shipper but still....

RS is also FAST. I just tried to add the LS chips to the order, but can't do it anymore, it's already ready to be shipped (I ordered a couple of minutes before !)

Anyway, another order, so another envelope, but what do I care, no shipping costs anyway !
Logged

gyruss
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2331


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #102 on: May 31, 2010, 05:00:13 PM »

Let's hope you will fix your baby soon, i want to know your highscore Grin
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #103 on: June 05, 2010, 08:50:58 PM »

Tried following to get it running:

Put in a new crystal
Swapped processors
re-seated all EPROMs
Exchanged one EPROM from Rob's board (the other won't fit, Rob's board has a bootleg extension board with larger EPROMs)
Measured all the power supplies, fine
Measured the reset line at pin 26 of the CPU, behaves the same on both boards.....

I'll go and install the new chips around the clock circuit, but I have a feeling the problem is not there.

Not having a test-set up sucks....
Logged

WunderCade
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #104 on: June 13, 2010, 05:16:50 PM »

Well Andre, now for some good news.....to cheer you up.....

Darin (PhoenixArcade) just reproduced silk-screened Ms. Pac CPO's. The CPO looks good, but I need a closer picture to see how accurate to NOS they are. But they look way better than twobits. Anyway, here is the KLOV link...

http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=137880

-Donnie
« Last Edit: June 13, 2010, 05:24:33 PM by WunderCade » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!