Author Topic: <3 my MK2 cab [new cab working yeah!!]  (Read 17368 times)

anunaki

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1430
    • View Profile
<3 my MK2 cab [new cab working yeah!!]
« on: November 12, 2012, 08:16:30 PM »
I want to dedicate this topic to my MK2 cab. It is my 1st and only cab ATM.

I never had the space at home, but this year my girl and I bought a house with a pretty large attic. This would become my hobby room. While our house was being build, I found a MK2 cab on Marktplaats, for a really good price. Fortunatelly, my friend has a big house so we drove to the seller with his van.

And there it was:



I was so thrilled, I actually lost the 1st game I played against the seller playing with Baraka (that never happens :o). Now we had to move it, but it is huge and very heavy. I didn't take pictures at this point :-[, but we got it to my friends house at the end. This was in January, my house wasn't ready untill the end of April.

Because the cab is so big and the fact it needed to go up 2 stairs, I decided to hire o professional moving firm. A guy came looking at the cab and my stairs and his conclusion was that it would fit. He didn't measure anything, but he was convinced it would fit. But.....







it didnĀ“t fit >:( >:( >:(

The movers returned the cab to my friends house and we needed to take it apart.

In the meanwhile, I had the idea to find someone who could put a piece on my wall. Together we came up with this



A couple of weeks ago, my friend and I finally had enough guts to take it apart







We found a couple of these inside  ;D



love it

And we put it back togheter ::)



It works !!! (no that's not me in the picture)

Now I'm cleaning it up





The following needs to be done:

- T molding
- Joystick
- new white buttons and one blue button (burnmarks)
- new things to hold marquee and glass (don't know the name)
- put some black paint on the edges on the back side
- maybe new plexiglass on the control panel (burnmarks)
- replace the locks
- fix the left coin input

i will put more pictures here of the process, this is it for now
« Last Edit: December 04, 2012, 08:53:10 PM by anunaki »

gyruss

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2332
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2012, 08:32:07 PM »
Those moving guys don't look too happy! ;D Good job on getting it to your game room, i've the feeling more will follow.  ;)

Personally i love the game so nice to have a dedicated mk2 topic on dlf..


Belike

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 4755
  • Budapest, Hungary
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2012, 08:53:59 PM »
Nice one, seems like you have the virus. ;D

Level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2012, 09:11:49 PM »
So far for "professional movers". I do assume you didn't have to pay those amateurs.

"Meten is weten en gokken geeft brokken" is what I've been taught :)

Look they don't even have/use a hand-truck:



I love those lamp-posts in your street though, very stylish ! :)

I won't comment on the game to keep this a happy thread  ;D ;D

anunaki

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1430
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2012, 09:22:05 PM »
hehe, off course I didn't have  to pay  them and they sure were not happy

I don't mind negative comments about the game, but I agree with your choice not to do so ;D

And are there more cabs to come, YESS there will

I'm buying a small universal cab from another member here. It's not working, so it will be my learning device. I also got myself some PCBs: Namco Classic Vol 1, Elevator Action (boot) and Shinobi.  They were very cheap and maybe not all working, this is also for learning purposes.

I'm planning on making some EPROMs for my MK2 to play other revisions and making some connectors for the El action and Shinobi boards. I will get myself a Shinobi adapter to check if my home made adapter works. Never done any soldering, but I'm motivated to learn it.

Lots of fun thing to do :!:

anunaki

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1430
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2012, 02:57:21 PM »
Yesterday my supergun print arrived.



Today I hooked it up to see my Namco Classics Vol 1 PCB is 100% working.





Soon I'll be picking up my new non working cab



I already found myself a 19" monitor I might pick up, so I will soon be playing Galaga again on the real thing, yeah 8)


Etienne MacGyver

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 7608
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2012, 04:11:40 PM »


I love it that they silkscreened a game and watch character on there  :D

Luigi

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1686
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 04:15:22 PM »
You MUST buy other cabs for that room!!

The MK will getting really bored with these two guys in the neighbourhood  ;D  ;)


anunaki

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1430
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 04:29:14 PM »
hahahaha, thats my Miele cab

eventually when I have more cabs, they will be in next to eachother in the middle of the attic

Level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2012, 05:40:28 PM »
I had the idea to use my attic as my gameroom. I even thought about making a wide door on the side of my house and install a winch to get the machines up and down.

Glad I didn't, my backyard gameroom was a much better solution, space wise and easier to move cabs in and out :)

anunaki

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1430
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2012, 06:31:52 PM »
I know. The attic isn't the easiest place.  But I only got a small shed in my backyard (with a scooter in it) and no garage, it wasn't part of the requirements of the new house.

I must say that I underestimated the dimensions and weight of the cabs, before I had my MK2.

I do have a Velux window of 114 x 118 cm, so I could try it with a crane. I think a Nintendo cab, with dimensions 170 * 60 * 85, wil go through, when I build a wooden rail to lead it in.

But it's not as easy as your gameroom

Etienne MacGyver

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 7608
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2012, 06:33:52 PM »
I know. The attic isn't the easiest place.  ....

O boy i love Eurocade, but dragging my CK from my mothers attic...   not so much  ;D

anunaki

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 1430
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2012, 06:38:24 PM »
How do you take it downstairs? Just lift it down with a couple of friends?

DarthNuno

  • Administrator
  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • *****
  • Posts: 11652
  • Singe's castle
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's Lair Fans / Arcade LifeStyle
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2012, 08:28:25 PM »
I love such topic! Pure ALS' moments ! Thanks for sharing  8)

Namco Classics Vol 1 PCB... great choice! Now pick up the Vol 2  ;)

Etienne MacGyver

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 7608
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: <3 my MK2 cab (pics and progress of my hobby)
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2012, 06:25:36 AM »
How do you take it downstairs? Just lift it down with a couple of friends?

Fortunately the Zacc's are not that huge (see my avatar, no i am not that tall  :D ), so when i need to take it down, it just fits the staircase.

I did it two times now, and both times my neighbour helped me.

The very first time when i bought the cab, we dragged it upstairs, and we experienced exactly why i now remove the bezel, monitor, CP and monitor.

That is almost 1/4 of the weight  ;)

So when it needs to go down, i empty it as far as possible and then i call my neighbour (he has experience now with this cabinet and the staircase)  ;D
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 06:27:15 AM by Etienne MacGyver »