Author Topic: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?  (Read 7449 times)

level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« on: October 18, 2012, 10:14:58 PM »
http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=253321

Looks extremely interesting.....like that its WiFi....

Can't find a European source yet...

Etienne MacGyver

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 7611
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 10:31:54 PM »
Looks nice and comfortable,

I think its not wifi, it has a memorycard and a USB connector so i guess it is like a digital camera

Scan to memory, then transfer to pc with cable

polaris

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 263
  • veni vidi congai
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 11:16:56 PM »
Looks nice and comfortable,

I think its not wifi, it has a memorycard and a USB connector so i guess it is like a digital camera

Scan to memory, then transfer to pc with cable
Says its wifi in the page that's linked a few posts down in that thread  :)
just keeping an eye on things

level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 12:13:27 AM »
There are two models: one with max. 600 dpi and no WiFi, the other with 1200 with WiFi. The latter is also better from what I've read.

Muerto

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3856
  • Denmark
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2012, 09:26:09 AM »
Looks easy! :spaceace:

level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2012, 10:24:51 AM »
....and it comes with included software for Mac too, which is a problem with the HP see-throughs AFAIK.

I'd already want to have this for my work only....scanning docs etc. Let's see if I can pull that off... :)

Superully

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 6300
  • Southern Part of Germany
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2012, 11:45:48 AM »
i just don't see how a scanner which you have to move by hand over a document provides the same level of accuracy as one which simply "sits" on top of something!
all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!

Zorg

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2012, 09:57:58 AM »
....and it comes with included software for Mac too, which is a problem with the HP see-throughs AFAIK.

Nop, Hp soft are also available for the mac. Only caveat it need to be run under roseta

level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2012, 10:13:47 AM »
@Ully: Yes that's my question too, but the result shown looks pretty OK although I think only the experts in this field could be the final judge of the quality.
My first feeling was remembering the very first scanner I could afford to pay, which was a (lousy) hand-scanner which it was almost impossible to get a straight scan with. However, that was somewhere in the mid 90's IIRC and it's 2012 now. There's a guy on KLOV forum who claims some of his patents are used in the device......there must be some clever software in the device that compensates for movement differences.

@Zorg: OK but Roseta won't run under Mountain Lion. Of course it's possible to make a dual boot, or have it work under Windows using Parallels, but direct support is always nicer of course. Wouldn't be an issue for me really because I'd use a Windows laptop to do the scanning if I would have had one of those HP scanners anyway.

I'm not doing a lot (if any) artwork scanning, but I'm looking for other applications for this device.


Etienne MacGyver

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 7611
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2012, 10:53:27 AM »
25€ in your backyard  ;)

http://link.marktplaats.nl/599928655

Belike

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 4772
  • Budapest, Hungary
    • View Profile
Re: Game Over for the see-through HP scanner ?
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2012, 12:06:21 PM »
We made some scans with this one with a friend of mine in a bended Vanguard marquee, it is the perfect tool for non-flat objects. ;)