Author Topic: Soldering Advice Needed  (Read 17315 times)

Superully

• ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • Southern Part of Germany
    • View Profile
Soldering Advice Needed
« on: June 06, 2010, 12:33:58 PM »
guys, i need some input:
yesterday i had to remove two old capacitors from a pcb which turned out more difficult than i had imagined.
(1) desoldering: i couldn't get the old solder to "flow / melt", although i had done everything i was told to do: temperature at 370°, tin the tip, put some new solder on the tip to add flux to the old solder. it worked at some joints, but there was one which was impossible to get out / off. even the new solder didn't want to stick to the old one, , i even tried cleaning the old solder with a fibreglass pen. i had to give up on this joint  :(
(2) soldering: as you know, i'm no expert in that, but i've watched a couple of videos and read some stuff about it. so i put the new capacitor legs through the holes, cut them to the correct length and heated both the spot and the leg at the same time. the videos suggest that you add the solder wick from the other side, because it tends to flow towards the heat, therefore forming a nice little "hill" around the entire leg. this didn't work at all, the solder simply wouldn't melt. then i put it directly on the soldering iron tip and while this worked for the first "connection", it got worse with each subsequent one. at the fourth connection, it wouldn't even stick to the capacitor's leg anymore  :(

i feel stupid!!! now it's your time to shine: what did i do wrong, how can i get the old solder to melt and the new one to stick / flow?

one more question: is it possible that the solder wick i'm using is too old: i have this liying around for many many years, perhaps it simply isn't usable anymore. if that is the case, do you have any solder wick suggestions for me?
all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!

Superully