Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
June 01, 2020, 09:37:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: which model?  (Read 6236 times)
Muerto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3832


Denmark


View Profile
« on: September 04, 2009, 09:45:49 AM »


Have this Hantarex which needīs a capkit... but what model is it?
Hantarex DE 04???






Logged

Muerto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3832


Denmark


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 02:41:28 PM »

itīs a Hantarex MTC 900/E
Logged

Superully
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 6290


Southern Part of Germany


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 05:49:20 PM »

isn't it great to answer your own questions?  Wink
Logged

all i need is ... PONG - and a select few others: TOUCH ME, DRAGON'S LAIR, JOUST, ROBOTRON, MR DO, SAN FRANCISCO RUSH THE ROCK!!!
ANY
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 88



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 07:23:02 PM »

itīs a Hantarex MTC 900/E

WRONG Smiley

It's a "MCT 900/E U.S.A." it's VERY close to the Europe/standard one, but the pbc is different
Logged

here is 10 kind of people:
-who can read binary
-all the rest
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13547


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 12:13:45 AM »

itīs a Hantarex MTC 900/E

WRONG Smiley

It's a "MCT 900/E U.S.A." it's VERY close to the Europe/standard one, but the pbc is different

Wait a minute, are you telling that there is a "regular" European 900/E, and then there's a "US" 900/E and then ALSO there is the 900 ?
I do know the 900 and 900E are very different...
Logged

Muerto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3832


Denmark


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2009, 08:48:44 AM »

@L42" - are you saying that a cap kit for a 900 donīt work for a 900/E?
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13547


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2009, 09:59:05 AM »

Indeed !!!!

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=89744.0
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 10:06:14 AM by Level42 » Logged

Muerto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3832


Denmark


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2009, 01:01:31 PM »

damn  Undecided - allready ordered one for 900...
can you point me in the direction of a 900/E cap kit?
Logged

ANY
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 88



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2009, 04:15:33 AM »

Wait a minute, are you telling that there is a "regular" European 900/E, and then there's a "US" 900/E and then ALSO there is the 900 ?
I do know the 900 and 900E are very different...

the 900 was only for europe market.
then after only a year the 900/e born (witch is IMHO one of the BEST monitor out there).
the 900/e was produced in both standard(Europe) and USA specs.
If look at the monitor you will see 2 pcb. one is the power suply, and the other the "monitor" one.
the power supply is different for the 2 version, while the other pcb is the same (more or less).
You can tell which country it was for by looking at the power and color input connector. Green for Europe and wire+white connector for USA.

Hope that help ANY
Logged

here is 10 kind of people:
-who can read binary
-all the rest
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7556


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2009, 07:16:26 AM »

i would say look at the caps that are in the kit

correct me if i am wrong on this:

if the values are the same as the ones that need replacements it would not do harm right?


Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13547


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2009, 03:42:41 PM »

Wait a minute, are you telling that there is a "regular" European 900/E, and then there's a "US" 900/E and then ALSO there is the 900 ?
I do know the 900 and 900E are very different...

the 900 was only for europe market.
then after only a year the 900/e born (witch is IMHO one of the BEST monitor out there).
the 900/e was produced in both standard(Europe) and USA specs.
If look at the monitor you will see 2 pcb. one is the power suply, and the other the "monitor" one.
the power supply is different for the 2 version, while the other pcb is the same (more or less).
You can tell which country it was for by looking at the power and color input connector. Green for Europe and wire+white connector for USA.

Hope that help ANY
Now that is some great info ANY, thanks ! The 900's have always puzzled me. I've got at least three of them so this is great to know, thanks.

Etienne: sure but there are bound to be (at least a number of) different caps on the two models....

Also, the Hantarex's use LOTS of caps. I think they were actually designed very well. Lots of US people in the hobby/business call them overcomplicated, but they were just designed to give a great picture.
Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7556


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2009, 03:57:45 PM »

so make a list of all the caps, the go to the electronic shop and buy this list and replace them Grin
Logged
petieken
Member
**
Posts: 377


Belgium


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2009, 04:33:06 PM »

so make a list of all the caps, the go to the electronic shop and buy this list and replace them Grin

If there isn't a capkit available this will indeed be the only other option. Grin
Logged

Wanted: Cadillacs and Dinosaurs CPS1 Q-Sound pcb | SegaSonic The Hedgehog Art & instruction set
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13547


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2009, 07:50:55 PM »

so make a list of all the caps, the go to the electronic shop and buy this list and replace them Grin
Two problems:

1) It's a lot of work to investigate, kits are simply handy
2) Maybe even cost more than a kit, although not necessary.

If you do lots of monitors it may be much better to buy a bulk of caps of often used values. Remember that in MOST (BUT NOT ALL !!) cases a higher valued cap is acceptable (in capacity/uF). (In voltage it is always acceptable).

Here's a nice cross reference list:
http://www.multigame.com/CapKitCrossReference.pdf
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!