Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
December 05, 2021, 03:35:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Finally after many years, the zacc is comming home !  (Read 10449 times)
Belike
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 4738


Budapest, Hungary


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: January 08, 2021, 08:16:25 PM »

I think, I have some of those, let me check. Wink
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: January 10, 2021, 11:38:56 AM »

Hi,

I was shocked to find that these old AMP Italy connectors are actually still in stock:

https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/te-connectivity-amp-connectors/280593/1130917

Paul.


Thats very cool, i see also that other sizes are still available.
Next question, i searched for AMP Pin or AMP Connector on the same site, but i cant find the pins that are needed for these, also i never have ordered pins, and know there is a lot of differences.

Do you know which one's go in these ? (preferably a link from that site as they also have a dutch site and ordering will not be a problem i guess)

@ Bela, If you have one, thats also cool ofcourse :-)
Logged
PaulSwan
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 762


ZZZ


View Profile WWW
« Reply #32 on: January 10, 2021, 04:39:52 PM »

The series is called "AMPMODU Mod I" and they have a variety of contacts for the series. This list link *may* work:

https://www.digikey.com/en/products/filter/rectangular-connectors-contacts/331?s=N4IgjCBcoLQCxVAYygMwIYBsDOBTANCAPZQDaIAzABwBMADCALqEAOALlCCAL69A

It appears I've been using 280702-1 "tin contacts" (that I got from Mouser):
https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/te-connectivity-amp-connectors/280702-1/1150100

...but there are gold ones as well if you like flash Wink
https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/te-connectivity-amp-connectors/280621-1/2263241

Paul.

Logged

ZZZ
Belike
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 4738


Budapest, Hungary


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: January 10, 2021, 07:08:59 PM »

I have 3 pieces of 8 pin connectors, one cut off with very small wires and 2, as a part of a loom.
Also has some crimps. Wink






Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: January 11, 2021, 02:44:55 PM »

Thanks Paul !

@Bela, Cool, i got a crimper for those pins, so if you can miss one of the connectors and 8 pins (make that 10 if i screw up), i am very interested to buy from you.
Logged
PaulSwan
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 762


ZZZ


View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: January 11, 2021, 06:28:41 PM »

Those crimp pins in Bela's photo are not the right pins for the AMP Modu I connector housing, see the DigiKey photo.
https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/te-connectivity-amp-connectors/280702-1/1150100
Logged

ZZZ
Belike
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 4738


Budapest, Hungary


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: January 11, 2021, 08:20:33 PM »

Yeah, Paul is right, I tried to install one, but it does not fit to the connector.
The connector with those small wires has all the crimps at each hole factory installed, if you can remove the remaining plastic isolation and solder some cables, it might be ok.
Logged
Digimon
Member
**
Posts: 482


Germany - Hamburg


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: January 11, 2021, 09:40:32 PM »

i have the AmpModu crimp pins.

But I am out of 8pin plugs
Logged

Searching Zaccaria Stuff: Zaxxon CPO, JumpBug CPO or CPO Repro
next project: assemble Zaccaria Vanguard.
Digimon
Member
**
Posts: 482


Germany - Hamburg


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: January 11, 2021, 09:47:46 PM »

you can always get spares in italy:

https://errebishop.com/de/raster-signalsteckverbinder/4329-modu-i-steckverbinder-weiblich-8-wege.html
Logged

Searching Zaccaria Stuff: Zaxxon CPO, JumpBug CPO or CPO Repro
next project: assemble Zaccaria Vanguard.
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: January 15, 2021, 04:26:06 PM »

Thanks everyone, ill try option from bela first, i think i can solder them on.

Yeah, Paul is right, I tried to install one, but it does not fit to the connector.
The connector with those small wires has all the crimps at each hole factory installed, if you can remove the remaining plastic isolation and solder some cables, it might be ok.
Logged
Laszo
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 986


Building


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: January 19, 2021, 11:57:30 PM »

Conrad also has these connectors,

https://www.conrad.nl/zoeken?search=Amp%20modu&searchType=regular
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: November 01, 2021, 04:42:57 PM »

Loooooong time has passed....
I took a break Smiley

Anyway, a little update for you guys;
Took for the test an old cut-up control panel and installed some switches:




Changed the monitor from a temp LCD to a VGA CRT, at least its a working CRT, The MTC900 is still not fixed unfortunatly  oppps




60 in 1 up and running, found a suitable connector in a pile of stuff and the harness is complete now.




First game to test is ofcourse one of my favorites, Donkey Kong!  Space Ace Space Ace




And ofcourse "Part II" Junior!




Time to do something about that test situation, Received a long time ago some piece of plexi that should fit, I believe it was Bencao, but please correct me if i am wrong, than i can credit the right person, Anyway Thanks !




Also Thanks to Andre, long time ago he gave me this Suzo inductive stick.




As the provided connector only takes very thin wires, i soldered them on.




Some heatshrink and good to go!




Made to my measurements, and an exact fit!, great, i only need to drill a few extra holes.




As you can see i need a bigger hole for the joystick in the plexi.




and modify the already butchered wooden control panel.
Dont worry, i have the original here untouched ;-)




after some modifications it fits flat with the wood, will fixate it later and will post that once its done.




Kept the plastic front of the monitor, cut it up so that fits nice over the tube.
Later i will spray it black and make the cardboard inner bezel fit.



Thats it for now, oh i almost forgot, i transparent sprayed the glass bezel to prevent more chipping.

Its nice to be out there in the shed again and tinker with this stuff  Grin
« Last Edit: November 08, 2021, 03:13:26 PM by Etienne MacGyver » Logged
Digimon
Member
**
Posts: 482


Germany - Hamburg


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: November 01, 2021, 09:21:10 PM »

great that you are back on track.

what is the problem with the Hantarex? Do you need some help?
Logged

Searching Zaccaria Stuff: Zaxxon CPO, JumpBug CPO or CPO Repro
next project: assemble Zaccaria Vanguard.
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: November 02, 2021, 09:04:48 AM »

Thanks man,

Don't know whats up, I have 2 chassis and 2 tubes, but only one i get some image. (see earlier posts)
Have to check both tubes and both chassis i guess, perhaps i can make one working from the 2, but i lack the time to dive into it.
oh well, maybe one day in the future, they are on the attic so not in the way.
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #44 on: November 17, 2021, 09:07:41 PM »

Another little update;
I printed the picture that i had of the "small" Vanguard CPO and placed that temporary under the plexi;




I know it needs a complete vector and print by Barry, and that will happen, but for now its better than the bare wood



Opened up Photoshop to "steal" some art that i can use in my vector file;





and made a start in vectors of the directions part of the cpo.
not finished yet, the inner black line is too thin.
The text part will be cut out anyway, so i dont worry about the text not beeing exact  Grin




All i need now is some time and some more time to vector all parts needed to recreate the cpo and the marquee.

Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!