Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
October 21, 2017, 06:43:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
Author Topic: # UK ROAD TRIP 19# >>> ATARI FIREFOX COCKPIT!!!  (Read 21628 times)
Muerto
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 3798


Denmark


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: October 05, 2014, 07:40:13 PM »

Great pics! - that cockpit or one similar would fit the new Star Wars game perfectly!
Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7508


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: October 05, 2014, 08:51:10 PM »

Looking great !

and Phillips TV, you can not go wrong with that IMHO !
Logged

Looking for Repro Decals ?  Visit my webstore !  arrow  http://www.easywebshop.com/arcadedecals
Q*ris
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 2494


CAP'TAIIIN ARCADE!


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: October 05, 2014, 11:21:24 PM »

 Space Ace Space Ace Space Ace
That marquee rocks btw!!
Logged
muddymusic
Member
**
Posts: 242


Arcade Art Shop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #33 on: October 09, 2014, 10:15:04 AM »

That was very unlucky the monitor wasn't working when you turned it on, I played a couple of credits on that cab just a few days before you picked it up  Sad
It's nice to see it powered up in your lair though!
Logged

repro artwork supplier, visit www.arcadeartshop.com
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13490


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #34 on: November 16, 2014, 12:04:24 AM »

Did you read this Bruno ?

http://www.jmargolin.com/firefox/firefox.htm


Quite a story.......and Jed Margolin is a brilliant guy !!!

Hilarious part:

1. The Switcher

    I was around during its development.

    A typical switcher test consisted of:
            1. Unnamed Engineer: "Everybody ready?"
            2. Sound of bench power switch being turned on.
            3. "BANG"
            4. Unnamed Engineer: "o SHIT!"

        Eventually the Switcher project was moved to another lab where it was mostly by itself (and we could close the door).

        Afterwards, a Switcher test was evidenced just by:
            1. "BANG"
            2. Unnamed Engineer: "o SHIT!"
« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 12:21:28 AM by Level42 » Logged

tb2000
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: December 01, 2014, 10:27:01 PM »

What a roadtrip!  Grin

I've played that cab many times at the Arcade Barn (before Shaun had to close it down!)

It's a shame the monitor stopped working as Olly says above. That was very clean Hantarex Polo 25", I think the lopt is fairly new. In fact, I adjusted the vertical linearity for Shaun a few months ago to get it spot on! Probably something simple, probably something got dislodged on the journey back to your house. The original monitor was a slightly different size I believe, something like a 24" maybe. I think it was basically a TV without a tuner that was used originally.

DarthNuno, can I ask what the tube number is of that Philips TV you've used? Certain Philips tubes can be used with the Hantarex Polostar Monitor (usually tubes from 100hz TV's) and i'm gradually building up a list of TV tubes that can be used with arcade chassis!
Logged
johnsarcade
Member
**
Posts: 185


Mushroom Kingdom, USA


View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: May 22, 2015, 06:52:16 PM »

Dude! That thing is AMAZING!! Are you running the original Phillips player? Love it!

I just grabbed this:

Logged

Tyrem
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 1740



View Profile WWW
« Reply #37 on: May 22, 2015, 09:29:23 PM »

wow john. you are hunting down the rare stuff now...
Logged

Looking for Dragons Lair 1 or 2, Space Ace, Double Dragon, Robotron and yeah... a Shinobi would be cool, too!
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13490


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: May 22, 2015, 10:29:41 PM »

Well that's a bit how we all "evolve" in this hobby I guess Smiley

Great score John ! Yeah....you are a Laserguy !  Grin

Logged

old school
Member
**
Posts: 168


Read more = post less


View Profile WWW
« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2015, 09:29:42 AM »

Never seen the upright one !

i' used to play to the cockpit in my arcade in the 80"

Great cacth ! it will be "in the basement"

 Grin Grin
Logged

"Winners Don't Use Drug " but to loop Ghost & Goblins it help !!
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11529


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2015, 02:25:15 PM »

I just grabbed this:

Nice cath John  Smiley


Dude! That thing is AMAZING!! Are you running the original Phillips player? Love it!

Nope, this cockpit runs a dedicated mame setup, configured and exclusively fine tuned for that game only! Once started, you can't tell its not the original setup behind that stuff. Note that I own the board, supposed working and the LD, but I don't have the LD player itself.
It's a fantastic game to play, a classic 'rail shooter' like Star Wars or Starblade, and so 80s', thanks to the Firefox theme!
 Space Ace
Logged

johnsarcade
Member
**
Posts: 185


Mushroom Kingdom, USA


View Profile WWW
« Reply #41 on: May 23, 2015, 09:34:14 PM »

I just grabbed this:

Nice cath John  Smiley


Dude! That thing is AMAZING!! Are you running the original Phillips player? Love it!

Nope, this cockpit runs a dedicated mame setup, configured and exclusively fine tuned for that game only! Once started, you can't tell its not the original setup behind that stuff. Note that I own the board, supposed working and the LD, but I don't have the LD player itself.
It's a fantastic game to play, a classic 'rail shooter' like Star Wars or Starblade, and so 80s', thanks to the Firefox theme!
 Space Ace


Oh, interesting! MAME? Or Daphne?

I'm trying to fix my Laserdisc player now. There is something wrong with the power supply. The thing is totally dead and no DC voltages are coming out of it. I really hope it's an easy fix. If not, I will get the DEXTER PCB when it's available.
Logged

Alpha1
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 1130


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: May 28, 2015, 02:55:30 PM »

John,

Speak to Dave Spicer - he already has Firefox kits available to remove the LD player. It is an all in one board with a CF card with the image of the LD on it.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13490


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #43 on: June 01, 2015, 06:11:28 PM »

Boooooo, we want spinning discs, breaking down players, laser rot and smoking power supplies !!

 Grin Grin Grin





Logged

uncletom
Member
**
Posts: 241



View Profile
« Reply #44 on: June 08, 2015, 09:29:04 AM »

It's still a nice catch. The cabinet itself is a one of its kind masterpiece in carpenting art. As so many other cabinets from Atari around this time. There's just no other cabinet builder like it. Ofcourse it must have been due to evolution of CNC routers and computerised /CAD programming. Just look at the lines, the angles, it's a wonder the cabinet holds that way. I'm very curious how they assembled it, what glue the used, and how well it still holds together today.

Congrats on that catch, Bruno. It's a beautiful piece of history.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!