Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
January 19, 2022, 08:15:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can you identify this PCB ?  (Read 3437 times)
f4brice
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 16



View Profile
« on: February 11, 2013, 06:52:49 AM »


Hello.

This PCB has been on a shelf at home for a long.
Could you please help me to identify it ?



All original chips where build on 1979 ~ 1980.
Big black chip on bottom is a Z80 CPU.
It seems to have 5 x Texas 2516 EPROMS as CPU code.
In the middle is missing a 2101 RAM chip (empty socket), removed by me some years ago.
On the left, there are 2 other Texas 2516 EPROMS (gfx Huh? ).
On the top left corner, there are 5 x DIL-16 chips on a socket, with maybe 2 missing chips.

I could dump EPROMs and ask MAME to identify dumps, but my EPROM programmer doesn't handle 2516's.

It looks like an Atari PCB for me, but all Atari PCB I own do have an explicit visible Atari signature on them.

Thanks for your help !  Smiley
Logged
Robinholland
Member
**
Posts: 494



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 07:41:08 AM »

Same pcb as a Galaxian pcb
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7591


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 08:24:33 AM »

Looks like its missing the power regulator
Logged
f4brice
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 16



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 08:57:02 AM »

Same pcb as a Galaxian pcb

Yeah, seems you got it.  Kiss
It's very close to a Galaxian hardware indeed !

Looks like its missing the power regulator

Yep, I forgot to mention this.
There was probably a TO3 +5V voltage regulator on the top-right corner.
The tracks side of the PCB shows unsoldering actions.

Thanks a lot.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2013, 03:48:13 PM »

It is modded for DC voltage supply instead of the original AC supply. You can see that where the orange wires are hacked in (and the rectifying diodes removed).

It's pretty weird if your programmer cannot read 2516's. If it can read 2716's than it can read 2516's too as these are the same:

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/80532-25-what-diff-eprom-eprom#t513989


Not sure how you ID your ROM files using MAME, but I am lazy and always use this site:

http://romident.coinopflorida.com

No installing of programs or manual things to do, simply "upload" your ROM file and you'll see what it is.
Unless they are Scramble ROMs...... roll eyes
« Last Edit: February 11, 2013, 04:06:50 PM by Level42 » Logged

PaulSwan
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 765


ZZZ


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2013, 06:50:44 PM »

There is a romident built into MAME - do the help from the MAME command line and it'll show you the options to use it. Allows you to point at a dir with the ROM files in and it'll go through the set and look for a match in it's database. You don't need to download any ROMS as it uses the built in checksums to ID.

Paul.
Logged

ZZZ
f4brice
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 16



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 08:15:10 AM »

It is modded for DC voltage supply instead of the original AC supply. You can see that where the orange wires are hacked in (and the rectifying diodes removed).

Yep. The PCB edge connector has burn traces.
There is also a big ceramic resistor missing, involved in the voltage regulator. Capacitors have been removed/changed.

It's pretty weird if your programmer cannot read 2516's. If it can read 2716's than it can read 2516's too as these are the same:

In fact, I didn't went through the 2516 datasheet.  Roll Eyes
I assumed that "25xx" = old EPROM with tripple voltage input (-5/+5/+12), which is wrong !

Not sure how you ID your ROM files using MAME

Open command-line tools, CD to Mame's executable folder and invoke this command :

Code:
mame -romident file.bin

Example :



As PaulSwan said, no need to have any ROM set stored on your hard drive.
Mame uses its internal build-in database to answer this request.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2013, 05:04:48 PM »

Ah nice to know, but I avoid command line stuff when I can Wink Wink
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!