Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
December 15, 2019, 09:43:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Roadtrip time tomorrow.......Fluke 9100A system catch  (Read 13833 times)
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2012, 07:25:37 PM »

Thanks guys ! Soon I will be opening Andre's Arcade Repair Shop Smiley

Seriously, like any other tool, it's not a magic thing. It's just a tool, a useful one, but without knowing what to do with it it's worthless. I understand the basics though, so that's a good start Wink
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2012, 08:53:43 PM »

Just opened the 9100A. There is a Seagate ST3390N SCSI harddisk in it. Acc. to a PDF on Seagate's site (http://www.seagate.com/staticfiles/support/disc/iguides/scsi/3655igna.pdf) this drive is from 1993.....probably not the original drive because the system is older. It seems to work fine, but I'm a bit scared to rely on a 1993 harddisk....that is almost 20 years.....

Some 9100A owners have managed to install a CF card set-up instead, let's see what I can find but for this moment I'll leave it a bit...

Nice page by Andy: http://www.andysarcade.net/personal/tech/fluke9100/index.htm
« Last Edit: November 04, 2012, 08:55:55 PM by Level42 » Logged

anunaki
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 1422



View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2012, 09:03:40 PM »

I just watch the video of the guy fixing the Punch out board. Looks pretty cool!! I wonder if I can ever learn to figure out how these boards work Huh?

I only know the basics on electronics from school. I understand how electricity works, For the biggest part I installed it myself in my last two houses. I also understand wiring controllers and cabs, but I don't have a lot experience in it.

Do you have any tips to start with? I'm really motivated learning to understand this.

Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7553


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2012, 06:42:55 AM »

Great stuff Andre !

Perhaps clone the HDD so at least you got a backup.

by the way, it looks like your wife is happy with you again  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2012, 06:54:38 AM »

Yes cloning the HD is a great idea but it's a SCSI and I mean old-school SCSI Smiley
However, again the Atari ST comes in handy as I have a SCSI controller on that one Smiley
Not sure if I have cloning software for it though...and from what I've read the disk systems (at least the floppy disk) is "OS-9" standard.

Well the good thing is that the 9105 probably won't stay long here so that is at least one unit less Wink I rearranged the boxes and now have "only" the two big one's left....

Succesfully tested one POD yesterday, another one shows a defect (non were "important" one's).
The probe tested out OK too. (there's something that looks and functions a lot like a logic probe included in the system. This can be used to test but also to insert a certain signal.
Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7553


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2012, 07:09:22 AM »

if you need something like this :



some cable and a PCI card, let me know , i have enough spare shizzle at my customer  Wink

I think you can use ghost, or image for linux, or acronis to clone the disk
i believe they read the disk at sector level, so the partition and format does not matter i think
Logged
Blanka
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 724


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2012, 12:45:06 PM »

Is there an USB/Computer equivalent of these tools?
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2012, 12:50:56 PM »

The Fluke tools ? No.
But I did find something about a project to emulate the main unit on a PC. You'd still need the pods though so even if/when it would be finished the functionality is rather limited.

If you mean the SCSI tools....Yes AFAIK.

Etienne that would be great, would have to fire up my PC again which has been since 2006 but I guess it should work. In that way it is also easier because I can hook up a USB key to transfer it.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2012, 12:54:57 PM by Level42 » Logged

liquidx
Member
**
Posts: 431


Bruxhell, Belgium


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2012, 03:08:11 PM »


I think I have a module for the 9100 somewhere, got it with my 9010.Can't remember what it does though.
Just moved so everything is in storage, but I'll take a look when I can.

The 9010 helped me a couple of times but remembering all the old stuff I learned back in the old Assembly language days was painful Smiley


Logged

findapinball.com - The European pinball locator
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7553


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2012, 04:49:34 PM »

Ive just put some stuff in my bag;

1x Adaptec AHA 2904
1x Adaptec AHA 2940
some HD SCSI cable with a terminator
2 connectors as shown above (i guess the drive is a 50 pin oldschool SCSI drive)
and a normal 50 pin ribbon with two connectors in case you need it without the terminator

if both the cards dont work, i also have some other server cards (LSI) but they are raid controllers
(you can ofcourse configure 1 drive  Grin )

Hope it helps
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: November 05, 2012, 09:01:19 PM »

Great Etienne, thanks !!!

yes its an old-school 50 pin SCSI drive.
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: November 05, 2012, 09:14:50 PM »

For the  guys interested in the Fluke 9100a and those who want to know what it generally can do, this is a good document to read:

http://arcarc.xmission.com/Test%20Equipment/Fluke/9100%20Fixture/9100%20Getting%20Started.pdf

I'm testing all pods now...
Logged

Gerry
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 54


View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: November 06, 2012, 03:54:33 PM »


....only problem is to get the images from the ST to a current system Smiley

Besides my PC (with floppy drive) I still use my Atari ST & Falcon030 and an Amiga. If you need help getting the disks imaged and burned on CDR, just drop me a line.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13542


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: November 06, 2012, 09:22:29 PM »

Cool thanks ! If needed I'll let you know Smiley

Guys check this out: http://arcarc.xmission.com/Test%20Equipment/Fluke/Fluke9100.avi

(71 Mb.... I had to play it on VLC player, didn't run in Quicktime)
« Last Edit: November 06, 2012, 09:37:24 PM by Level42 » Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7553


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: November 07, 2012, 08:51:45 AM »

Cool thanks ! If needed I'll let you know Smiley

Guys check this out: http://arcarc.xmission.com/Test%20Equipment/Fluke/Fluke9100.avi

(71 Mb.... I had to play it on VLC player, didn't run in Quicktime)
Rule #1 Always VLC player, never sucky quicktime...  Wink
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!