Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
December 08, 2021, 10:30:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 15 ... 46
  Print  
Author Topic: ## Road Trip ## GALAXIAN THEATER from NAMCO !!!  (Read 617681 times)
Belike
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 4738


Budapest, Hungary


View Profile
« Reply #180 on: January 05, 2013, 10:27:22 PM »

Awesome! Space Ace
Logged
scr33n
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 1674



View Profile
« Reply #181 on: January 05, 2013, 10:51:05 PM »

Awesome! Space Ace

+1

Cool video  Space Ace
Logged

PROJECTS FROM SCRATCH:

Galaga - PacMan - Donkey Kong Red Cab - Track & Field Upright - Tempest - Burgertime - Gyruss - Defender - Track & Field Cocktail - Robotron 2084

RESTORATIONS:

Q*bert - Timber
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11639


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #182 on: January 06, 2013, 02:36:49 PM »

OK... all the G≥ parts are here! It's now time for starting a new season of this Galaxian3 Theater6 story :

SEASON 06 - REBUILD THE THEATER

EPISODE 01: All these bases are belong to me!
Starring : Darth Nuno


Here the box with all the screws from the disassembling stage :



The screen base is composed of three parts, let's check what's inside each of them... here's the first one :



...and inside  arrow



Well, almost empty, huh? yeps, just a couple of 'Bose' speakers, that will play the 'front right' sounds during the game...oh, and some dust/spider webs I will remove in no time!  Tongue



Here's the speakers connector, that goes to the next 'base' box . arrow



It's time to chose the 'important' location of this first 'box'... I take the bet to put it directly against the wall, with almost no free space (less than 2 cm) between it and the walls. According my disassembling memories, and what I've seen on our Japanese friends reassembling videos, there should be fine... See, almost no space!  arrow



The electricity socket dedicated for the GT6 in the game room is just behind that first base box, and may not be accessible anymore l8ter... So I prefer to prepare the power strip...  arrow



... plugged!  arrow



Now, let's check what's inside the second part... the box that will be located in the middle, under the screen to come :



Nothing except two fluorescent tubes. Here's the reference :



And now the third part/box  arrow



An other couple of 'Bose' speakers, that will play the 'front left' sounds during the game, and the huge 'Bose' bass box!  Shocked  arrow



The bass box details :



A view of the three parts... now aligned and inter-connected to each other! Damn!...it's quite easy so far  Roll Eyes Grin  arrow



The End
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 06:30:34 PM by DarthNuno » Logged

subzero1970
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 604



View Profile WWW
« Reply #183 on: January 06, 2013, 03:32:47 PM »

surely not....surely this HUGE thing isnt just powered by one plug?Huh??
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #184 on: January 06, 2013, 04:17:25 PM »

Why not ? it's not going to use more than f.i. an electrical oven (rule: anything that heats electrically uses a lot of electricity).

I do hope Bruno has a dedicated group for just this machine, combining it with more machines one one group mightl push it to the edge....

At Eurocade we power all the machines (about 45) with just three groups and never have problems (unless someone is fiddling inside of a cab WinkWink ).

not sure about Belgium but in Holland a typical group is limited to 16A, meaning about 3200W normal use at 230V.

The plugs and wall-outlets we use here are rated up to 16A too. (Too be totally complete, Belgium uses the French variant of the Schuko plugs and wall-outlets but ratings are the same).

« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 04:25:57 PM by Level42 » Logged

leonk
Jr. Member
*
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #185 on: January 06, 2013, 05:00:59 PM »

In North america, standard outlets are 15A.  But for kitchen outlets, 20A is used (with 20A rated wire).  Electric stoves, clothes driers, and central AC are all 220V ~30A circuit (using much thicker wire).

Bruno could have always installed much higher rated wire / outlets if required.  But since at the end of the day this is a video game machine (a big one at that) I'm sure it was designed to plug into standard outlets and not requiring dedicated electrical modifications.
Logged
Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #186 on: January 06, 2013, 05:27:08 PM »

lets see, it has 2 beamers, audio system and the pcb sets and some fluorecent tubes.

i guess its not drawing more than max 1250 watts at 220 Volts.

What does the manual say Bruno ?

(Or what is the rating of the huge stepdown converter used ? )
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #187 on: January 06, 2013, 05:38:23 PM »

My guesstimate is that G3 uses about 2000W max., probably more around 1500W.

Take a device like this



 and you're at the same power rating, also with just one plug.

The three Sony CRT projectors I guess at about 300W each, so 900W in total for the projectors. Then the LD player, Game electronics, Bose system, lighting ......lets say that is 600W....

Overhere in Holland  if you cook electrically you get a special "Perilex" socket with 2x 230 V or even 3x 400V if you need even more than 7kW which the 2x230V can provide.

Since we have a lot of natural gas here there is a very widely extended gas distribution system and so many (maybe most ?) people cook on natural gas here though, like we do.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 06:55:43 PM by Level42 » Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #188 on: January 06, 2013, 05:39:49 PM »

2 projectors, somehow I thought three. If 2 even less power...
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11639


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #189 on: January 06, 2013, 07:00:29 PM »

Yes, only one single plug behind this stepdown converter.
I have a dedicated 20A line in V3 for the G3, no problem!  Wink
My only concern will be the other games, and the total of electrical consumption...
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #190 on: January 06, 2013, 07:41:32 PM »

Yes, only one single plug behind this stepdown converter.
I have a dedicated 20A line in V3 for the G3, no problem!  Wink
My only concern will be the other games, and the total of electrical consumption...

Wow, forgot about that ! Looks like Namco never expected the game to be actually exported.....it was already a long time common use to have multi-tapped primary windings on transformers for multiple voltages....
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 07:49:38 PM by Level42 » Logged

polderarcade
Member
**
Posts: 187



View Profile
« Reply #191 on: January 06, 2013, 10:14:10 PM »

Damn bruno
Itís starting to look like a real project lots of electronics
Still one of the best  topics I enjoy  following
Good luck putting the monster back in one piece Wink
I like that bose subwoofer great for some heavy metal Grin

Andre I think the projectors will even use more power I have the same only a version newer in my home theater and thatís  450W
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #192 on: January 06, 2013, 10:22:24 PM »

OK, but that's still "just" 800W....plus about 600W would be 1400 W in total.....

It does make your meter spin pretty fast though....

Logged

Etienne MacGyver
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 7587


The Netherlands


View Profile
« Reply #193 on: January 06, 2013, 10:50:49 PM »

from the manual :


* 03.jpg (39.43 KB, 561x442 - viewed 1488 times.)
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13554


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #194 on: January 06, 2013, 11:08:39 PM »

LOL !!!! Where did you find the manual ? I actually tried to find it because I knew it would be in there Smiley

Nice guestimating by me Wink
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 15 ... 46
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!