Dragon's Lair Fans - Arcade Lifestyle
July 10, 2020, 08:42:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ALS'/DLF' : your daily dose of Arcade Life Style...inside the Dragon's Lair!
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
  Print  
Author Topic: a new PAC MAN cab' is born... WIP  (Read 73834 times)
DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2007, 12:49:52 AM »

OK Remember, I've removed all the white Galaxian vinyl on the first side, but not on the secdond side.

My first idea was to apply vinyl directly on that second side witout totally removing the rest of the Galaxian draws, but I decide to make a test, because the twobits repro artwork the  is not thick enough IMO...

Here's the test.

Before :



After applying an artwork sample :



I'm right, so I have to remove all the rest of the Galaxian graphics BEFORE applying the repro artwork  :idea:

I'm using this to remove all the rest of the old galaxian painting :



OK, now there's no more black paint on it :



Like the first side, paint all the border/edge of that side, and remember to fill EVERY holes with wood filer. The TwoBits artworks are not printed on heavy vinyl... and if you  don't fill holes, it'll look very bad  confused



Before applying the artwork on that side, I mesure the distance between the base and a part of the artwork on the fisrt side, in order to dispose the artwork on the second side in the same manner than the first side :



... take a lot of mesures to be sure to be right  



After few adjustment, it's on the good place  Shocked

Like I did on the first side, I'm cutting the shape of the cab, but I left more than 10 cm on the borders, in case...



Remember, no dust !!!



I'm using the same method used for the first side ...

First step :



...and the second part of the sticker :



Yes... perfect job  Shocked

Note that the strange 'wave' on the mouth of the ghost is not a mistake    It's just a protective layer  



I'm painting a second layer of yellow on the top :



There are also two other places to paint in yellow :



Done... beware, fresh paint  Cool  Cool  Cool



Let's wait at least 24 hours.


...



The paint is now dry  lol

Ok, the big work on the cab is ... DONE  Tongue  All the rest of  the work can be done direclty in my gaming room, so ... it's time to move that cab from the first level of my house ...



...into my Gaming Room     arrow



Next step... removing all the artwork sticker protections... and discover how my "new born Pac Man" cab will looks like...  Tongue

...so, more than ever... StaY TuNEd  Cool  Cool  Cool
Logged

arcadefever
Member
**
Posts: 232



View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2007, 06:01:58 AM »

great ...

by the way did you got the marquee ?  confused

i email you later about the bezel ...fred
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2007, 10:20:05 AM »

Quote from: "arcadefever"
great ...

by the way did you got the marquee ?  confused

i email you later about the bezel ...fred


Not yet  confused

OK, let me know for the bezel... is the only part missing now  roll eyes  
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: January 06, 2007, 10:25:50 AM »

and now... a magical moment  Tongue

No comment... just watch  Shocked  :

























 Tongue  Tongue  Tongue it looks like a *brand new* cab isn't it ?  Shocked  Shocked  Shocked

The most thrilling part is done : applying the *famous* twobits sidearts  Tongue

The result is wonderfull  Cool

...but the Pac Man born is not over yet, so ... StAy ArOuNd  Smiley
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: January 06, 2007, 04:27:03 PM »

I've done a quick youtube vid' when I was removing the protective layer under the sticker  Smiley  

Have a look here  arrow  http://youtube.com/watch?v=L1s0MkKB7sc

...enjoy the great tune playing on it  roll eyes   Waka Waka Waka...
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: January 06, 2007, 11:28:48 PM »

Now let's take care about the back door. Here's the original status :



Have a look at the grills for air : full of rust ...  confused



...of course, rust on both sides  confused



I'm using a special product to remove the dust... I just let 24 hours the stuff inside the 'magical' product  Smiley



Here's the result :



After cleaning the back door, I'm starting to paint it, of course with the same 'Pac Man' yellow color  lol



Back on the grills... Primer first as usual   arrow



Now that the paint is dry on the backdoor, I put back the original lock, with a custom keylock 'Pac Man'   Tongue



...backdoor on location  Shocked  Shocked  Shocked  :



Stay Around  roll eyes  
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2007, 08:57:09 AM »

Ok, now the paint on the backdoor grills is dry. I remove the backdoor :



Here is the 2 grills finished  Tongue



...on location  Shocked



OK, now it's time to apply T-molding :



In order to fix strongly the T-molding in the trench, I'll use an hammer, but to avoid damaging the *brand new* T-molding with it, I put a piece of fabrics like this :



OK, here we go... usual way to apply T-molding...   Cool   Just don't forget to cut like this for the curves    :



...take your time... but do a clean job  Tongue



...this curve is light... so don't cut to much... do like this :



First side is done  Cool



Same work for the other one  Smiley



Done  Cool

Hey there is something missing here ?  roll eyes



No, it's ok now lol  :



And voila  Tongue  Tongue  Tongue  Tongue



StAy tUNed  Shocked
Logged

funkycochise
Member
**
Posts: 259



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: January 07, 2007, 10:02:18 AM »

Damn, it's just perfect.

Elle est magnifique ta pac pac.

I hope to see it soon, when i'm gonna work close to your home, mate.
Logged
Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13550


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2007, 08:38:56 PM »

Looking fantastic !!!!

Would you tell us what that "magical" prodiuct is you used to clean the grills ? They look amazing and my Galaxian grills really need some cleaning !! Smiley[/img]
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2007, 09:07:44 PM »

Quote from: "Level42"

Would you tell us what that "magical" prodiuct is you used to clean the grills ? They look amazing and my Galaxian grills really need some cleaning !! Smiley[/img]


   It's a french product, have a look :





...it looks like a common anti rust, but I can tell you this one is working great  :idea:
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2007, 10:21:16 PM »

OK, it's time now to think about the display...

Well, arcade monitors are really expensive here in europe... at least 300  ( approx 390$) for a 19 inch size !!!

But... we are very lucky with our TV There is a SCART connector, wich allow us to send a true RGB signal, and have the same arcade quality picture than a true monitor arcade :-)

So I'm bying a *brand* new TV for that cab of course ... for only 129  Tongue



If you're a regular on this forum, you'll notice it's the same model than the one I've used for the Space Ace restoration    By the way, the second box is the TV box used for Space ace  

Ok, let's get it out of box  Shocked



Let's start to dismount it ... only 5 skrews  arrow



Note that I didn't discharge it because I even didn't plug it once... so I'm almost sure it's discharged... but don't try this if you're not sure !!!



No luck, I have no monitor support on that cab  confused

Hopefully, I have an other Midway cab... my Galaxian  Tongue



Great, I'll take the measurements of the Galaxian monitor support and build a new one for the Pac Man  :idea:

Tubes are heavy, I'll use MDF wood for the support :



...with the measurements taken on the Galaxian cab, it's very easy to do a new one...



Done :



I'm building now the support for the TV's board, like this :



...before fixing the TV tube & the board on my 'custom made' monitor support, let's check if I do it right  roll eyes  

Let's go inside the Nuno's lair...



...and check the monitor support direclty inside the cab' :



Yeesss... now a view from the back :



Greaaaattt  Tongue  Tongue  Tongue

STay TUnEd  
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13550


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: January 10, 2007, 11:23:17 PM »

Quote from: "DarthNuno"
Quote from: "Level42"

Would you tell us what that "magical" prodiuct is you used to clean the grills ? They look amazing and my Galaxian grills really need some cleaning !! Smiley[/img]


   It's a french product, have a look :





...it looks like a common anti rust, but I can tell you this one is working great  :idea:

Darn.....that stuff rocks ! Well you would expect the French to make the best rust-fighter wouldn't you (ahahahaha sorry bout that old joke......) Doesn't look like it's a big international name behind it. I have some HG rustcleaner, but the damn stuff is darkening the metal !!! I tried it and it seems way to agressive :S....


Great work on the "monitor" Smiley It's funny, the cheapest TV's still use these really nice round tubes, like back then Tongue

I reveived my capkit yesterday, hope I will have some time to install it tomorrow night.
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: January 12, 2007, 11:20:46 PM »

Quote from: "Level42"


I reveived my capkit yesterday, hope I will have some time to install it tomorrow night.


Good luck with the capkit  
Logged

DarthNuno
Administrator
ArcadeLifeStyler'
*****
Posts: 11622


Singe's castle


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: January 13, 2007, 12:02:50 AM »

Ok, now that I'm sure the support is correclty build and has the correct size, I'll fix the TV tube + TV board  arrow



CAUTION when you move the tube & the board. I suggest you to be two persons for doing the job. Avoid the tube & to board to be in contact when you're moving them, like this by exemple :



Perfect  Tongue



I'm fixing the board with classic PCB mounting feet ...



... and put the 'result' inside the cab  Cheesy



...a *brand new* display for a very soon *brand new* cab'  Cool



Switch on... for the very first time  arrow



OK, now I quickly build a 'custom' jamma harness including RGB synch signals to TV Scart connector, use a *brand* new arcade power supply, get the Namco Collection pcb...



...



... power on ...



...




 Tongue  Tongue  Tongue  Yes... perfect  Tongue  Tongue  Tongue  ...but ...



...opsss...


 if you look closer, the right border of the pac man maze is out of the scren  confused

Opps... this is the BIG difference between a TV and an arcade monitor : The arcade monitor has a lot of pot to set the picture...
The board on my modern TV doesn't have any pot to set the picture, and the menu accessing with the remote control let just me set the colors, contrast, brightness... but not the geometry / size parameters  
 confused  

...so what ?

Hopefully, most of all new TV have a hidden menu, only accesible by professional technician  roll eyes  Hail to Internet, I have this tips  

After doing the 'magical' tip, here's the famous menu, which allow me to set all the geometry/size of the screen, and even better  shock  So much parameters... IMPRESSIVE  shock



And now :



Look better isn't it  Tongue  Tongue  Tongue  



...to continue...
Logged

Level42
ArcadeLifeStyler'
***
Posts: 13550


Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !


View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2007, 12:14:20 AM »

Great work !!! Glad you find the "code" for that TV !!

I was wondering the following: Arcade PCB's normaly use 5 V tt for the RGB signal. SCART "wants"  only 0,7 V tt. Did you experience any problems with that ? I think you didn't use any resistor or anything else to lower the power did you ?


This will be a lovely cab !

I just ordered some stuff for my Galaxian:  a nice new  CPO, T-molding (yes, the black-leathered !). 3 white push buttons, some bolts and the midway Coin door logo plate gold . PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED ONE OR TWO OF THOSE AS WELL, I CAN NOW STILL ADD THEM....

Total a 103 bucks...lots of shipping costs but o wel...
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!