Author Topic: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !  (Read 69540 times)

Muerto

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3844
  • Denmark
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #30 on: March 10, 2010, 08:17:20 PM »
no

ckong

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3177
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #31 on: March 10, 2010, 09:15:58 PM »
I'm hijacking your topic a little but I'm sure you won't mind. I just got the converter today and after installing  a new set of fuses the cabinet WORKED! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
The picture is clear and bright, the burn-in isn't noticeable and the joystick works fine.
The only problem is this f*%#ing speed chip, but that's all.
I hope you'll will be able to play yours soon, I still can't believe that we all got a Pac Man cab  :o

I forgot: pics, or it didn't happen!  ;)

gyruss

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2332
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #32 on: March 10, 2010, 09:28:02 PM »
I got some real shitty pictures taken with a low-res cam phone, I'll post them tomorrow...
I have been playing the game for a hour or two, the speed hack and strange layout of levels suck monkey d@#k, but it's still a very fun game to play.
  
« Last Edit: March 10, 2010, 09:30:03 PM by gyruss »

Level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #33 on: March 10, 2010, 09:30:11 PM »
So, am I correct that we only have to change the EPROMs to get a normal Ms.Pac or is there more to it ?
I haven't delved too deep into it yet.

I'm currently working on a Gravitar PCB and man it's hell !

ckong

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3177
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #34 on: March 10, 2010, 09:36:37 PM »
So, am I correct that we only have to change the EPROMs to get a normal Ms.Pac or is there more to it ?
I haven't delved too deep into it yet.

I'm currently working on a Gravitar PCB and man it's hell !

It's just an EPROM swap. I already have a ms. PAC-man and Pac-man PCB, so for me it's easy, I will just swap the PCB's and sell the ones with the speedhack. :)

About Gravitar, I know that you like a challenge.  ;D

Level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #35 on: March 10, 2010, 10:04:06 PM »
I may very well have a look at a multi-pac.
I'd like to play Pac and Ms.Pac on the machine. Not looking for the speed-hacks though....

Gravitar: Believe it or not,  I just completed the maze planet at the second level !!! I was jumping because I thought I'd now have a score like somewhere in the 80000 but no ! I actually scored one place behind my current hi-score (somewhere in the 38000).
Of course, it was just a test-play and then I managed to fly through all the turrets firing at me.

Of course went to the maze planet on the 3rd level right away, but now the turrets are already there to start with. And from what I hear, the maze will become invisible after you hit the reactor (IF you ever arrive at the reactor)......
It's crazy. The designers of this game were nuts I tell you ! :D

Sorry for off -topic. I'm replacing the pots, I figured it would be a no-brainer, but because two of the three legs are connected to a huge GND area (=lots of metal that eats the heat of my soldering iron) it's very hard to get the holes open ! But I'm slowly managing....

ckong

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3177
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #36 on: March 10, 2010, 10:15:32 PM »
STOP PLAYING, GO TO WORK !!!  :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Level42

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 13555
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #37 on: March 10, 2010, 10:24:11 PM »
Yes my master !

gyruss

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2332
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #38 on: March 11, 2010, 02:19:31 PM »
It's just an EPROM swap. I already have a ms. PAC-man and Pac-man PCB, so for me it's easy, I will just swap the PCB's and sell the ones with the speedhack. :)

Is it hard to swap these roms? I mean is it possible for a noob like me with no technical skills at all?

ckong

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3177
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #39 on: March 11, 2010, 02:25:54 PM »
It's just an EPROM swap. I already have a ms. PAC-man and Pac-man PCB, so for me it's easy, I will just swap the PCB's and sell the ones with the speedhack. :)

Is it hard to swap these roms? I mean is it possible for a noob like me with no technical skills at all?

Yes, very easy. Just 'wiggle' them very gently out with a tiny screwdriver. dot it from both sides, so the pins don't get bent too much. don't worry if they are bent a bit, you can straighten them gently again.

Then insert the new Eproms with equal pressure on both sides of the eprom surface. But be sure that you insert them in the the right direction, just watch out for the marks on the board and the mark on the eprom, they have to be on the same side.

gyruss

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2332
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #40 on: March 11, 2010, 02:31:31 PM »
nice! And do you know where I can order these roms?

ckong

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3177
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #41 on: March 11, 2010, 03:08:04 PM »
nice! And do you know where I can order these roms?

http://www.hobbyroms.com/

I have ordered there quite some roms in the past. There is an e-mail button. I would just mention that you have a ms. pac-man board board with a speed chip and alternate maze hack, but that you want the original programmed Eproms back. Stephan will know what you mean.

gyruss

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2332
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #42 on: March 11, 2010, 06:41:35 PM »
Thanks, I emailed him..

Etienne MacGyver

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 7608
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #43 on: March 11, 2010, 08:15:32 PM »
Yes, very easy. Just 'wiggle' them very gently out with a tiny screwdriver. dot it from both sides, so the pins don't get bent too much. don't worry if they are bent a bit, you can straighten them gently again.

Then insert the new Eproms with equal pressure on both sides of the eprom surface. But be sure that you insert them in the the right direction, just watch out for the marks on the board and the mark on the eprom, they have to be on the same side.

be very gentle with a screwdriver...

i always use this to remove IC's:


ckong

  • ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3177
  • The Netherlands
    • View Profile
Re: WAAAAAHHOOOOOOOOOOO !!! I've got one of my "Dream Machines" !
« Reply #44 on: March 11, 2010, 08:49:14 PM »
I don't like that tool, in my opinion you have much more control and 'feeling' over what you do when you use a small screwdriver.