Author Topic: my 1st monitor fix  (Read 7135 times)

anunaki

• ArcadeLifeStyler'
    • View Profile
my 1st monitor fix
« on: January 31, 2015, 09:55:08 PM »
Guys, I'm very proud because I just finished fixing up my 1st monitor ever.

It's the MTC-900 from one of my zaccs I got from pauls50s. When I 1st put it on, picture on the screen was too small, wobbling and the colors were off.

I discharged the tube (well, nothing really happened), I did a capkit and I studied the manual to find out about the degaussing coil. I also found out about B+ and I adjusted it to 126V. Now the picture looks OK, just a little bit washed out in the lower left corner (when oriented vertical). No more wobbling.

I do have some questions for next time

- There are measuring points on the chassis for all kind of stuff, including B+, but what is the best place for GND (I used video ground, but there must be a better spot)
- What could be the reason the degaussing button isn't working all the time (after power off and up, it works again)
- Is there a way to test Vpp with a multimeter or do you always need a scope?

This is the result:

level42

• ArcadeLifeStyler'
  • Ridderkerk, arcade capital of Europe !
    • View Profile
    • Arcade 42
Re: my 1st monitor fix
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2015, 12:40:08 AM »
Good job !

The degaussing works only when the monitor is cold (unless you have a manual degauss button). A posistor, the thing that looks like a little black box) lets mains voltage "through" to the degauss coil when it's cold. It quickly heats up by the current running through it and because of that starts to block the voltage because the resistance increases.

Usually I pick the point where the ground "enters" the chassis. On some monitors (not all !!!!) the heat sinks are on ground level too, but sometimes (old monitors/TVs) they ca carry high voltages.
If nothing is hacked, the metal frame of the monitor should be at ground level too.