General Chat > All the rest

Kickstarter campaign - possibly something of interest!

(1/3) > >>

Retro Reflections:
Hello!

Apologies in advance for using the 'long time lurker, first time poster' line in order to promote something, but I thought this might appeal to a few people here; I'm getting ahead of myself though, so let me introduce myself properly first.

I'm a videogames industry veteran with 30 years of experience in graphics, design, project management and journalism, going all the way back to my first game on the VIC-20, via all manner of 8 and 16-bit computers, consoles and handhelds, numerous UK magazines, and a number of games on mobile up to the iPhone. However, my first love has always been arcade coin-ops, and as such I've been working on a visual guide book for a number of years.

Due to my health falling apart because of severe bilateral emphysema, the book's taken considerably longer than I'd have liked, but it's now finally complete and ready to launch; in order to achieve this, I've created a Kickstarter campaign to bring it to fruition. INSERT COIN - A VISUAL GUIDE TO THE GOLDEN AGE OF ARCADE VIDEOGAMES is an A4 hardback 211 page coffee-table artbook, featuring images rendered in high-resolution CG, through research scoured for years across the internet (including this fine forum). It's also the first in a planned ongoing series, each featuring fifty classic cabinets, their control panels, side art and marquees, along with other information such as components, dimensions, designers, development staff, and more.